Seco TA2000 to Honeywell RTH7600D Thermostat Help


  #1  
Old 07-01-14, 02:52 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Seco TA2000 to Honeywell RTH7600D Thermostat Help

I just helped move my girlfriend into her new apartment this past weekend. As a housewarming gift, I got her a new digital thermostat to replace the antique on the wall and to save her some $$ on heating & cooling. The place has a Seco TA2000 installed and I would like to install a Honeywell RTH7600D. I did an install last night and followed the wiring off of the old unit.

This is what I found...

W2=White
O=Orange
R=Red
Y=Yellow
G=Green
Blue=Not Connected

The blue wire was NOT connected at all...what is the deal with that? I know the cooling works, just have not checked the heat...it is CA.

So when I fired up the new thermostat...it was blowing hot air on the cool setting. I was not sure what was going on, so I put the old unit back on until I got some help. I am assuming that the unit outside now is a heat pump and the aux/emerg. heat is the electric in the air handler. I am only used to conventional systems. After some investigation I see that maybe my settings may needed adjustment as well for a heat pump system.
If somebody could lend a little wisdom on this it would be appreciated. I also need to see if all the wire colors match at the air handler. They are all labeled, but I need to make sure.

Name:  IMG_0350.jpg
Views: 4315
Size:  31.2 KB
 
  #2  
Old 07-01-14, 03:20 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The blue is the common for 24V, some stats need them, some don't.
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-14, 03:24 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is good to know. If the Blue common is hooked up at the air handler, but not at the thermostat, what would be the outcome if the new thermostat requires it. My HVAC is very rusty, haven't worked much with it in over 20 years.
 
  #4  
Old 07-01-14, 03:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey no prob we can work through this. i took a look at the manual, the blue wire will land on C, then make sure it is connected in the furnace. Select system on your stat and go to function 0170 and set that to 7.
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-14, 03:43 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is how I hooked it up on the Honeywell...

AUX=White
O/B=Orange
R=Red (Jumpered to RC)
Y=Yellow
G=Green
Blue=Not Connected

I also did NOT set 170 to 7 and it blew hot air...
 
  #6  
Old 07-01-14, 03:47 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea, put the white wire on W teminal.
 
  #7  
Old 07-01-14, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,101
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
If you don't program the thermostat for heatpump operation.... the thermostat won't energize the orange reversing valve wire in A/C mode and the heatpump will only work in the heat mode.
 
  #8  
Old 07-01-14, 04:28 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had it on the AUX/W2 terminal.
 
  #9  
Old 07-01-14, 04:44 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am seeing that now. I was missing a document in the packaging about the advanced setup options for heat pumps. 170 & 190 are key...I may have had the wiring right the whole time, just my settings were for conventional.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: