Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007 w/ heat pump installation assistance


  #1  
Old 07-07-14, 02:49 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007 w/ heat pump installation assistance

Hi,

I'm about to install a Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007 in place of the existing non-programmable thermostat that I have, and wanted to verify a couple of things here first.

The current thermostat is a Robertshaw 9520. It's wired up like this:
Name:  2013-10-23 22.01.20.jpg
Views: 3307
Size:  39.1 KBName:  2013-10-23 22.02.00.jpg
Views: 1832
Size:  33.8 KB

The unit I believe is an Arcoaire EF16J2200A1. The W1 and W2 (which I believe are emergency and aux heat) are jumpered together at the furnace control board. If I'm understanding everything correctly, here's how I want to wire the new thermostat:

Old -> New
C -> C
R -> R (jumpered to Rc)
O -> O/B
G -> G
Y1 -> Y
E -> E jumpered to Aux

Is that the correct wiring? Is it a problem that I don't have an L wire?

Once I do that, I have a couple questions about the thermostat programming.

- Is my system type (107) number 2, or number 7? I think it should be 2, but I'm not sure.
- Fan control (180) should be 1.
- O/B Control (190) should be 0.
- What should all of the 2xx CPH settings be?
- Should I change any of the 580-690 settings?

Manual for my new thermostat is here.
Pictures of my unit label and control board:
Name:  2014-07-07 17.14.51.jpg
Views: 663
Size:  26.0 KBName:  2014-07-07 13.13.42.jpg
Views: 650
Size:  41.5 KB

Thanks so much for any help!
 
  #2  
Old 07-07-14, 03:27 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think your wiring is good. On the white wire, what is that labeled in the stat? I would set it to number 7 because you have an electric furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-14, 07:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I should have clarified a couple of those, since it was hard to get a good angle. The white wire is hooked up to E.

System types 2 and 7 are both heat pumps. One is with Aux and one is without.
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-14, 07:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,140
Received 1,523 Votes on 1,406 Posts
The white wire is aux heat.
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-14, 08:06 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was emergency on the old one. Should it be Aux on the new one? Should emergency and aux be jumpered at the thermostat? Note 8 in the installation guide says "Install field jumper between Aux and E terminals if there is no emergency heat relay."

Or do I actually want to unjumper aux and emergency at the furnace, and hook them up separately? I'm pretty sure I only have the 6 wires between the thermostat and the furnace, but the thermostat came with a wiresaver module. So I believe I can combine Y and G into a single wire from the thermostat, which would free up another wire to hook up aux and emergency separately.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: