Will this thermostat work?


  #1  
Old 07-08-14, 06:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will this thermostat work?

Hi,

I have an old honeywell LR95329 that does not turn on the cold air unless I set the temperature really low (60). I imagine the mechanical thermostat coil is bust?

I would like to replace it with a programmable one.

This is an image of the wiring in the system I have right now:
Name:  IMG_0979.jpg
Views: 2107
Size:  30.3 KB

Would it work if I replaced it with a basic Walmart one like the $24 Honeywell 5-2 Day Programmable Thermostat RTH2300B1012A?

It says "Does not work with heat pump systems with back-up heat, multi-stage heating/cooling systems and electric baseboard heat". I dont know what any of that means, is it possible to tell from the wiring on my old one?

My concern is the black wire X. I dont see this in use on the cheap Walmart one...?
 
  #2  
Old 07-08-14, 06:17 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
No, you need a multistage heat pump thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-14, 06:25 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
When you replace your thermostat this diagram should help...

 
  #4  
Old 07-08-14, 07:45 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks. Hw can you tell that thats what I need? Because of the black wire?

Will this work?
http://www.amazon.com/Lux-TX500U-Uni...pr_product_top
 

Last edited by jehaz; 07-08-14 at 08:10 PM.
  #5  
Old 07-08-14, 08:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://www.luxproducts.com/support/T..._WebManual.pdf

Yes that stat will work but I'd look at Honeywell.

You need a heat pump with Aux heat stat because you have the O wire to control a heat pump reversing valve. X and W control heat strips (Aux Heat)

I'd look at a Honeywell RTH6350.
Robot Check

The RTH6450 would add Autochangeover capability.

Th RTH7400 not require batteries.

The RTH7500 would not require batteries and give you autochangeover.
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-14, 01:12 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all your help.

I bought the RHT7600 from Home Depot

I must have wired something up wrong, because now when I set the temperature to a cooler temp, with cool mode on, I get heat blowing out ???

Any ideas what Ive done wrong?
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 07-09-14, 03:19 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would switch the the black and white wires. Make sure stat is set up for heat pump with back up.
 
  #8  
Old 07-09-14, 05:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I would switch black and white as skaggsje has posted but the reason you are getting heat with a cooling demand is you need to set function 170 to 7 (Heat pump with Aux heat)
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: