New wifi thermostat install?


  #1  
Old 07-10-14, 04:15 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New wifi thermostat install?

I have a Honeywell RTH6580WF to replace an old mercury thermostat. The old one has four wires attached to it, Y, W, G, R in their respective places. There was also a Blue wire that was not attached. I'm assuming I can use this as the C wire to draw power, but in looking at the circuit board on our system I'm at a loss of where to actually do this. The pics I'm attaching look like someone just did a real number on it, but I'm hoping someone can help. My best guess is to use the existing blue wire that is just wound around the brown part and put it onto the COM on the circuit board. BUT there is already a red wire there that when I trace is runs into the ceiling and disappears. I would appreciate ANY help!Name:  IMG_3271.jpg
Views: 399
Size:  34.2 KBName:  IMG_3272.jpg
Views: 387
Size:  45.2 KBName:  IMG_3273.jpg
Views: 447
Size:  50.2 KBName:  IMG_3274.jpg
Views: 387
Size:  51.1 KBName:  IMG_3275.jpg
Views: 327
Size:  40.9 KB
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-14, 04:24 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, land the B wire on the 24v com. Looks like some one ran 24v to some thing else, Door bell?
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-14, 04:26 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
We think it runs outside to the compressor or condenser or fan. Is it okay to have them both in the com?
 

Last edited by nook82; 07-10-14 at 04:29 PM. Reason: Wrong word
  #4  
Old 07-10-14, 05:23 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,640
Received 72 Upvotes on 65 Posts
Yes it is normal to see two wires on Y and two wires on C.



Color codes vary.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: