Please help installing honeywell wifi thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-14, 12:03 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please help installing honeywell wifi thermostat

I'm trying to hook up honeywell wifi thermostat (model # RTH6580WF). It will be a heat only system. In my basement I have 5 wires, the old thermostat only used two. I have a Weil Mclain boiler (CGa) and a Taco SR 506 control zone. So I plugged two wires into the W and R slots. I hooked up one of the wires to the C slot on the thermostat. I'm not sure where I have to hook it up where the boiler is. I currently see all the thermostat wires are hooked up to the Taco control zone but there are slots only for R and W. I just bought a house so I don't know much about these things. Thanks for the help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-01-14, 03:25 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will need to find the common side of the transformer. Can you post some pics?
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-14, 04:11 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://www.taco-hvac.com/uploads/Fil...6(102-085).pdf

I would consider an external transformer for Rc and C and removing the jumper between Rc and R

http://www.amazon.com/Class-II-Trans...lt+transformer.
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-14, 08:10 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 406
Size:  47.2 KB

Sorry for the delay, I'm still in the middle of moving. Also if I want to put the thermostat were I have only 3 wires from the wire, will it work as well?

Thank you!
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-14, 09:55 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
That transformer looks like it has external low voltage wires. It looks like 3 wires may work after all.
We will need to prove that the yellow is 24 vac common.
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-14, 10:56 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for replying so quickly. Not to sound like a noob but I'm not sure what your saying. If possible lets first try to get it going in my basement where I have 5 wires. So I currently have the R and W hooked up. I also saw on the Taco it has a slot called "24VAC" so I put the green wire there and at the thermostat end in the C slot and nothing. What should be my next step?
 
  #7  
Old 08-05-14, 11:03 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Post a closer picture of your board.

We have yellow, red, t and t.

Yellow or red is C.

2 of these are 24 volt power "R".
(One of the t terminals and the red or yellow wire)

The other T terminal is W.

PJ had a great test to prove these terminals.
I'd need to draw it up to test.
 
  #8  
Old 08-15-14, 11:07 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
here is a closer pic of the board.
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 08-16-14, 06:05 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,749
Received 67 Votes on 63 Posts
Can you use a volt meter? If so put one lead on the 24 terminal on the board and the other end on the red terminal for the stat ,you should see 24 VAC,if not move the lead to the other terminal that should be 24 VAC and that will be your connection for the C wire,land you C wire from the Tstat under that screw.
Or simply connect Red to RC/RH. White to W1. And what ever color you choose for common usually blue to C ,take tha common wire and try it on either of the 24 volt terminals on the board until the Tstat powers up.
Geo
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: