Thermostat Wiring for Honeywell RTH6350 on Heat Pump w/elec strips


  #1  
Old 08-08-14, 07:12 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat Wiring for Honeywell RTH6350 on Heat Pump w/elec strips

My old thermostat has an Aux E & a W2 connection. This new thermostat calls to hook those two together.

The wiring instructions say to hook the W2 white wire to the Aux/E along with the E wire. By doing this, when the thermostat demands heat, it is going to turn on the heat pump and also the emergency heat. This defeats the purpose of a heat pump.

How do we work around this or do we need a different thermostat?
 
  #2  
Old 08-08-14, 07:58 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
By doing this, when the thermostat demands heat, it is going to turn on the heat pump and also the emergency heat

Aux is electric heat and E is electric heat. Both are often connected to the same wire at the air handler.

Disregard the notes but the brown wire to this sequencer is E and the white is Aux but they both connect to the same post on this sequencer.




Aux is energized when a heating demand is greater than 2 degrees with many stats.
E energizes the heat strip without energizing the Y terminal that controls the compressor.
A good feature when the heat pump fan motor fails on a Sunday night.

The new stat can use the same terminal for stage 2 or for emergency heat.

Do you have the model number of your heat strip?
I usually only like up to 10KW used for stage 2 heat.
20KW for stage 2 heat could get expensive or uncomfortable.
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-14, 06:54 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll have to disassemble more panels on the unit to get the model # of the heat strips. My concern is where my white wire goes on the new thermostat. Here is the old manual stat to unit hookup and the new programmable RTH6350 avail terminals.

Old manual stat - unit

G (green) - G (green)
R (red) - R (red)
O (orange) - O (orange)
Y (yellow) - Y (yellow)
C (blue) - C (blue)
E (brown) - E (brown)
W1 (jumpered to Y) - W1 (empty)
W2 (white) - W2 (white)
B (Empty)
L (Empty)

New RTH6350 available terminals for heat pump

RC & R (jumpered together)
Y
O/B
G
Aux/E
L

I understand that R & RC are jumpered and red goes to R. Yellow goes to Y. Orange goes to O/B. Green goes to G. Brown goes to Aux/E. Where does my W2 white wire go? If I hook the W2 white to the Aux/E with the brown wire, the heat pump and the strips will come on when the demand for heat is sent. This defeats the purpose of having a heat pump.
 
  #4  
Old 08-09-14, 09:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,917
Received 1,485 Votes on 1,373 Posts
Stage one of your heating system is Y (compressor) energized only with no O (reversing valve in heat position).

Stage two is Aux/E gets energized for your heat strips.

More than likely brown and white go to the same terminal in the air handler.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-14, 01:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, you were absolutely correct. The brown and the white are jumpered together at the unit. So, the white and the emergency were the same.

Thanks for all the help.
 
  #6  
Old 08-09-14, 04:51 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I guess that I need to improve my communication skills because I thought that is what I posted along with a picture to illustrate this. Oh well...
 
  #7  
Old 11-16-14, 05:16 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i have the SAME problem...so i did what everything said to do, put the w2 AND e wire into the new aux/e slot. only cool air, no heat. so i programmed for correct heat pump setting and nothing....so i pulled w2 out and tapped it up, left e in the aux/e slot. heat seems to be working ok, still my gut says its not right
 

Last edited by Jesse Sciacca; 11-16-14 at 05:32 PM.
  #8  
Old 11-17-14, 04:53 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
What thermostat do you have?
What is the make and model of your outdoor unit?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: