Replacing Command-Aire thermostat


  #1  
Old 08-17-14, 10:48 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Command-Aire thermostat

I want to install a new programmable White-Rodgers thermostat and cannot figure out the wiring. My existing thermostat has R (red wire), G(green wire), Y1 (blue wire), Y2 (white wire) terminals. The new White Rodgers unit has O/B, Y, G, W2, C, L, R terminals. Can you help? Many thanks, Fred
 
  #2  
Old 08-17-14, 10:59 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You need a different thermostat to support your multistage cooling unit.
Y1 is stage 1 cooling and Y2 is stage 2 cooling.

Does your unit not have the ability to heat?
I usually think of water source heat pumps when I see that brand. I would have expected an O or B terminal.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-14, 05:46 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the unit is water source and also has a electric coil and cooling cycle. Do the stages refer to heating or cooling stages?
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-14, 05:56 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
With a heat pump Y1 and Y2 are heat and cool stages. Electric heat strips would be a third stage of heat.

Judging from your link, your stat seems to have some custom jumpers in it. I would check the connections at the heat pump.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: