NEST thermostat help!


  #1  
Old 09-14-14, 09:48 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NEST thermostat help!

I have look over other to see if they could help but nothing. I'm trying to install a nest to a millivolt system but it says that these are considered to be wall heaters and such. This is not that! I tried connecting and it wont turn on. I took a picture of my board on the furnace. The only wires on it that are hooked up are the (w) and (R). I was wondering if I could just run some wires up from the furnace to the NEST and it will work.
Name:  20140914_124210.jpg
Views: 357
Size:  45.4 KB
 
  #2  
Old 09-14-14, 01:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a York furnace that's only a couple years old.
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-14, 01:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,193
Received 1,530 Votes on 1,413 Posts
The nest requires 24vac to operate. If that is your control board then you do not have a millivolt system. There is no control board in a millivolt system.

Do you see a 24vac transformer somewhere near that board ?
If you have a meter..... test for 24vac between C and R.

You would most likely need to connect the R, W, and C wires for the nest to work properly.
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-14, 01:50 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From my furnace all I have down there is a this board and two wires coming from it to my old thermostat. So i figured that i would just take off old thermostat and be good to go but there were only 2 wires.
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-14, 02:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So can I just run a wire from the c all the way up to the nest and be good?
 
  #6  
Old 09-14-14, 03:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,193
Received 1,530 Votes on 1,413 Posts
So can I just run a wire from the c all the way up to the nest and be good?
Yes... but I'd confirm the 24vac is available before running the wire.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: