Thermostat wiring (Robertshaw 9520 - Arcoaire EBP1800B)


  #1  
Old 09-15-14, 04:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat wiring (Robertshaw 9520 - Arcoaire EBP1800B)

I have a robertshaw 9520 thermostat and an Arcoaire furnace:
Serial Number A030950302, Model: EBP4800B.

the house in which the unit is installed was vandalized ie outside unit, thermostat wire, all wiring was stolen... any help will be greatly appreciated in how to rewire the thermo back to the furnace. the furnace has only 4 wires red, brown, grey, and white. I have no outside unit yet so all I need is to get the furnace working!!!!!
 
  #2  
Old 09-15-14, 07:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,101
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

We're going to need the colors/terminals off your thermostat.
Actually the electric furnace part should still be working along with the fan. Have you tired it ?

The following picture is the basic wiring. You may have wiring connected at this location and going to the missing outside unit. Make sure that wiring is insulated outside or disconnected for now.

Name:  A_C.JPG
Views: 23663
Size:  41.8 KB

At the present time you are only concerned with the R, G and W's.

Link to your manual for more info if needed.

Manage my life EBP manual INSTL L0502489.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-14, 07:21 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 254
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
  #4  
Old 09-16-14, 07:31 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I truly appreciate your help! all wiring to thermostat and furnace were missing, so I have nothing to reference my wiring to. I've included a pic of the lugs on the RobertShaw 9520 thermostat.
Name:  RobertShaw 9520 Thermostat wiring lugs.jpg
Views: 5212
Size:  50.1 KB
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-14, 07:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,101
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
If the wiring from the thermostat to the furnace is missing then the first step is to install a piece of 8 conductor thermostat cable between them.

Second step is to locate a screwdriver that will fit those t'stat screws.
 
  #6  
Old 09-16-14, 07:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
all that has been done.
thank you
 
  #7  
Old 09-16-14, 08:07 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To all that has read and replied to this thread, I greatly appreciate all help! Iím not a dummy; I have no prior knowledge of any HVAC. I donít want to make a mistake wiring and damage the furnace and I canít afford to hire a professional to wire the thermostat! Again I greatly appreciate all help!!!
 
  #8  
Old 09-16-14, 08:20 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I have attached a wiring diagram that should get you going for heat. Turn off power to the unit when installing wires. The letters to the right of the photo are the connections at your fan coil.
 

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-16-14 at 08:40 AM.
  #9  
Old 09-16-14, 08:34 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had the red and grey but wasn't sure about the white... Thank you so much!!!!!
 
  #10  
Old 09-16-14, 08:38 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Let us know how it works out or if more assistance is required. Your thermostat appears to be a non-programmable thermostat for a 2-heat/2-cool heat pump application. Since it is non-programmable, it may be a good idea to swap your thermostat for one that works for a conventional system since you are only using it for heat at this time. If you decide to install a heat pump later on then you could use the 9520.
 

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-16-14 at 11:18 AM.
  #11  
Old 09-16-14, 03:29 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unit working!

Unit is working!!!
Thanks to all for helping!!!
 
  #12  
Old 09-16-14, 03:47 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Glad you got it goin' and thanks for the update.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: