thermostat wiring / programming issue


  #1  
Old 11-29-14, 01:04 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermostat wiring / programming issue

Hello,
I need somw assistance with wiring, I may have something hooked up wrong. I had a Janitrol HPT18-60 thermostat that I replaced back in the summer with a Honeywell Vision Pro 800 TH8320U 1008. on the old Janitrol thermostat I had: yellow wire attached to "y" terminal
green wire attached to "g" terminal
red wire attached to "r" terminal
orange wire attached to "o" terminal
black wire attached to "c" terminal
blue wire attached to "e" terminal and
white wire attached to "w2" terminal.

I hooked up the new Honeywell thermostat matching color & terminals.
red wire attached to "r" (r=rh & rc jumpered together)
yellow wire attached to "y" terminal
orange wire attached to "o/b" terminal
green wire attached to "g" terminal
blue wire attached to "c" terminal .... (originally black wire attached to "c" terminal but saw several illustrations online indicating blue wire on c terminal)
white wire on "aux" terminal and
black wire on "e" terminal (after switching from "c terminal).

This seemed to work during the summer. I had system configured as 1H/1C. Now that it is getting cold where I live, it seems like the heat isn't configured correctly. I went through the installer setup and re-configured it to 2h/1 cool with aux heat. Now when I have the thermostat set to heat and the unit actually on, warm to cool air is coming out. I turn the thermostat to off and the system actually runs and heats.

So something I have either wired incorrectly or programmed incorrectly, please advise. Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 11-29-14, 02:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would move the black wire back to C. Land the blue wire on AUX/E.
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 11-29-14 at 02:49 PM. Reason: Correction
  #3  
Old 11-29-14, 10:59 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I agree with skaggsje .

Also...

If the outdoor unit is a Rheem, Ruud or Weatherking set function 190 to 1.
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-14, 08:51 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok so I'm confused, my new thermostat has an "aux" terminal & an "e" terminal. How can I have the blue wire connected to the 'aux' terminal and the 'e' terminal? Is there supposed to be a jumper between the aux & e terminals?

Also, outdoor unit is Goodman.
 
  #5  
Old 11-30-14, 11:19 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the the confusion, Blue wire will land on E terminal.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: