Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Install WiFi Honeywell T-Stat with no C Wire on Separate Furnace/AC

Old 12-18-14, 09:59 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I've been while digging through tons of posts hoping I can find the answer on my own, but I'm very new to this stuff so could use the help of some kind experts out there.

Here's the situation: I have a new WiFi Honeywell that needs a C-wire but I currently have a 5-wire T-stat (W, RH, RC, G, Y) with no C. My old T-stat:

Name:  Old TStat.jpg
Views: 2040
Size:  50.8 KB

Running new wire is going to be very difficult, and I don't care about losing manual fan control, so I'd like to repurpose the T-stat G wire and then jump Y and G at the control board. This seems to be the recommended "hack".

I have a hydronic furnace and a Trane 4TEExxx model air handler. I don't think I need to do anything at the furnace, but the wiring at the furnace has me confused because I see a C, Y, G, etc. terminals.

Name:  Furnace Wiring.jpg
Views: 2070
Size:  35.6 KB
Name:  Furnace control board.jpg
Views: 3146
Size:  37.4 KB
Name:  Furnace Wiring and Control Board.jpg
Views: 1973
Size:  40.4 KB

The Trane air handler has no C terminal but in looking at the schematics the "B" wire is the common.

Name:  Trane Wiring Schematic.jpg
Views: 8917
Size:  31.4 KB

Am I reading that correctly? So what I'm thinking I can do is:

(Turn off all power)
1. Don't do anything at the furnace.
2. On the Trane air handler, move the G wire to the B terminal.
3. Jump Y to G.
4. At the T-stat, hook up the C to the previous G wire.
(Turn on all power)

Would that work? Outside of running new wire, is there a better way to handle this? Really appreciate any help on this as I've been struggling mightily with this. Thanks!

Name:  Trane Wiring.jpg
Views: 1209
Size:  38.0 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 12-18-14, 11:42 AM