Honeywell Z-wave thermostat wiring


  #1  
Old 02-23-15, 07:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell Z-wave thermostat wiring

I recently installed a Honeywell Z-wave thermostat ( Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007/U Z-Wave Enabled Programmable Thermostat )
and am confused. I wired it up, it heats fine. I have a heat pump with electric strip auxiliary/emergency.

The problem I'm having is the outside compressor is running no matter what, even though it's 20 degrees out. The screen on the t-stat also NEVER shows Aux/Emergency unless I manually change the mode from "heat" to "Emergency heat". Obviously Aux is running when it's 20 degrees out because the house is nice and toasty. The question is...is Aux running all the time? I don't want to damage my outside compressor by running it when it's this cold out. I have attached pictures of my wiring, before and after.
Name:  IMG_20150209_221527.jpg
Views: 1238
Size:  38.1 KB
Name:  IMG_20150223_213926.jpg
Views: 2055
Size:  25.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 02-23-15, 08:29 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Add another jumper from Aux to L.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-15, 07:09 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks, now the Emergency light comes on as it should. The outdoor unit still runs while E is on, but maybe that's just the nature of the heat pump...
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-15, 10:00 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
The light would alarm many people if it displayed whenever Aux heat is energized.

If I had a heat pump I would jumper as you have to see this information.

Aux heat should only lock out a heat pump with a dual fuel system that uses a gas or propane furnace for Aux heat.

Looking at the configuration codes, I see that Aux heat lockout is not an option with that thermostat.

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...0s/69-2486.pdf

This is an option with the VisionPro line and the Redlink line of Honeywell thermostats.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: