New Thermostat, AUX heat always on


  #1  
Old 03-13-15, 03:31 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New Thermostat, AUX heat always on

Hey everyone, I installed a new Honeywell programmable thermostat when my old Honeywell quit working. I thought it would be an easy swap, but some of the connections are different between the two models. I got everything hooked up and turned on the heat and now the AUX heat runs along with my heat pump every single time. It's currently 55 degrees outside, not freezing and the AUX heat is kicking on just to maintain the temperature in my home. Here are some photgraphs of the wiring, any assistance would be appreciated.


Old Thermostat:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]47922[/ATTACH]

New Thermostat:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]47921[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 03-13-15, 04:27 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Many thermostats must be configured to control a heat pump.

What is the model number of your new stat?
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-15, 04:52 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell 2510/2410

I flipped the switch to heat pump that's underneath the thermostat. Is there a setting that I possibly missed?
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-15, 05:41 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Are you sure of the model number? The terminal configuration doesn't match what I found here:
https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2421ES.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-15, 06:42 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2726ES.pdf

I brought up that older manual a few posts back.

To enter config mode press and hold the up and down keys around 5 seconds and you should see the display change.

Change function 1 from 0 to 1.
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-15, 07:02 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That's how I had it set. I changed it to 0 then went back and changed it to 1 to see if it reset. It's really weird, does the wiring look right to you guys? I appreciate the responses.
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-15, 08:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Aux heat will energize when the heating demand is greater than 1 degree so setting the temperature for a colder house when you leave and warmer when you get home will increase the usage of electricity.
 
  #8  
Old 03-14-15, 02:36 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Why are you using a set-back thermostat? They generally cost more to operate than one which holds a constant termperature when heating with a heat pump. The exception would be with a much higher end stat which "learns" how long it takes to warm the house from X to Y degrees with an outdoor temperature of Z.
 

Last edited by Grady; 03-14-15 at 03:39 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: