Honeywell RTH6580WF Install - E, W1, & W2


  #1  
Old 03-30-15, 09:02 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell RTH6580WF Install - E, W1, & W2

I'm trying to replace a White Rodgers 1F95-377 stat with a Honeywell RTH6580WF stat. I have six heat pumps in my building. Four of the 6 were easy with a standard wiring of R, C G, B, Y1, W1, & E (E & W1 jumpered together). No problem until I got to the 5th one that has this same wiring but with a purple wire going to W2. Any ideas how to wire this? Sorry, no access to AH/HP wiring at this moment.

http://imageshack.com/a/img537/8468/YXXymF.jpg

The 6th one is the newest unit and has even more wires but I'll follow up with that after I figure this one out.

Thanks for any help I can get.
 
  #2  
Old 03-31-15, 03:32 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,086
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Where does the purple wire connect at the unit?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-15, 06:40 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That, I do not know. The unit is built into a utility closet and I haven't figured out how to access that part. I was hoping it was something that was straight forward but looks like I'm going to need to get in there and start taking covers off. Super tight fit had me hoping for a shortcut.
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-15, 08:27 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was able to open up the unit today and take some photos. This stuff doesn't look like it matches up. I'd appreciate any help I can get. Thanks

Make/Model of unit
http://imageshack.com/a/img537/7308/BSzNvm.jpg

System schematic
http://imageshack.com/a/img537/6210/ICI7OG.jpg

Wire diagram from installer
http://imageshack.com/a/img913/6672/mKzIWu.jpg

Wiring block inside unit
http://imageshack.com/a/img540/1489/fJOAnO.jpg
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-15, 05:11 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,086
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Sorry but that is over my head,hopefully one of the more experienced techs will check in,you are sure it is a heat pump? I did see the purple wire tied onto the W3 terminal which shows a heat contact.
Good luck!
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 04-02-15, 10:27 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yep. It's a heat pump. You can see in the model serial photo of the tag on the unit. It's just old. Probably installed in the mid 80's
 
  #7  
Old 04-02-15, 10:48 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If W3 is just another set of heat strips, would it be OK to just have E, W2, and W3 all connected to Aux/E terminal? Looks like W1 is connected as B.
 
  #8  
Old 04-03-15, 10:22 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nothing? I had higher hopes.
 
  #9  
Old 04-04-15, 11:45 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,527
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
I see nothing to indicate that your Bard air handler is connected to a heat pump in the air handler nomenclature. I see it is an air handler with 3 phase 15 kw heat strips.

Name:  Bard fancoils.jpg
Views: 952
Size:  49.8 KB


I don't see that W1 or E control a heat strip in your diagram.
It looks like W2 controls the only heat strip contactor in the air handler.


Name:  Bard color diagram.jpg
Views: 5922
Size:  33.7 KB

What is the make and model of the outdoor unit connected to this bard air handler?

If you post some pictures of the control area of the air handler, we may be able to see what W1, DH and E control (if anything).
 
  #10  
Old 04-05-15, 10:55 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks! Let me see if I can get some pics of the outside unit next week. I tried to get the model serial but the plate is so oxidized that I can't read anything off of it. I'll need to open it up and see what I find.

I'm also wondering about the "if connected" part. It looks like DH is for dehumidifier, and I know I don't have a built on dehumidifier.
 
  #11  
Old 04-11-15, 10:20 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK, here are a few photos of the outside unit. It's also a Bard unit and difficult to read what the model is, but it looks like 60MPQ4-3. I took some photos of the inside of the unit. I hope you can understand what is connected to what. Lots of jumpering.

Thanks

http://imageshack.com/a/img633/1331/MnZw23.jpg

http://imageshack.com/a/img909/7188/vwJySe.jpg

http://imageshack.com/a/img537/71/yhv0Ei.jpg

http://imageshack.com/a/img538/9098/RXbQWk.jpg
 
  #12  
Old 04-12-15, 05:04 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,086
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
The purple wire is on a blank terminal in these pics,dose the unit function without the purple wire connected?
Geo
 
  #13  
Old 04-12-15, 09:54 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I haven't tried it without the purple wire. In one of the photos from the inside unit, the purple wire is jumpered to a grey wire. The grey wire in the outside unit is connected to a Yellow, Pink (thick wires), and a orange that looks to come from the same bundle at the grey.

Wiring block inside unit
http://imageshack.com/a/img540/1489/fJOAnO.jpg
 
  #14  
Old 04-15-15, 01:07 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,527
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Do you have a wiring diagram for the outdoor unit?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: