Honeywell RTH9580 Wi-Fi...Where to buy replacement base


  #1  
Old 04-05-15, 06:18 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell RTH9580 Wi-Fi...Where to buy replacement base

I managed to bungle the install a bit and need a new base. I bought the thing off Amazon. I'm struggling to figure out where to get one.

Thanks in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 04-05-15, 06:21 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,013
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Have you checked Ebay?what did you do the base?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HONEYWELL-RT...item4d2fd7a424
Geo
 

Last edited by Geochurchi; 04-05-15 at 06:47 PM. Reason: Add a question
  #3  
Old 04-05-15, 06:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Welcome to the forums.


There were two listed on eBay for $65. A pretty expensive bungle.
Otherwise you could try contacting Honeywell direct for a replacement base.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-15, 06:42 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's working as it should. I know a couple of contacts where the unit and base connect got destroyed. I put a bit too much on it trying to get it attached with the wires not completely out of the way. It was a stupid move.

I was on another thread (pasted below) and someone mentioned getting a new base the next day. Seems like they're more readily available than ebay? I saw the ones on ebay but was hoping for something quicker.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/th...heat-call.html

Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-15, 06:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
No..... you misread the thread. The guy received a replacement thermostat with a base. Since he previously had the same stat he only swapped the stat. He was told to also change the base that came with the new stat.

Contacting Honeywell direct is the only way I know of getting one quicker.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-15, 06:50 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,013
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Good luck getting anything from Honeywell.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 04-05-15, 06:50 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep. I missed that part completely. My apologies.

I'll call honeywell...or suck it up and buy off ebay!

Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 04-06-15, 04:33 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,013
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Let us know how you make out with Honeywell.
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 04-06-15, 06:36 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I called and got "Alex" at honeywell. After giving him a bunch of my info, which included my state...he asked if that was in the United States. Hmmmph.

He wants a picture of the front and the back of the base plate. After that, they'll determine if they can provide a replacement. They may not be able to regardless.

What the heck? It was a frustrating 5 minute phone call.

Since the unit appears to be working fine, I may just live with it...and keep an eye on ebay.
 
  #10  
Old 04-10-15, 01:30 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,013
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
How long have you had it? maybe you could contact the supplier at Amazon and tell the base was damaged when you received it,it's worth a shot.

Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: