7 wires and installing Honeywell RTH6450


  #1  
Old 04-09-15, 05:29 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
7 wires and installing Honeywell RTH6450

I recently had an upstairs thermostat go out, display just stopped working, so I bought a new one. I uploaded a picture of what I started with, I've followed the instruction manual, I've searched all over the net and nothing has yet to fix it. Its taken me about 2 days so far to achieve nothing. Please Help!!!!Name:  thermo.jpg
Views: 1070
Size:  32.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 04-09-15, 08:31 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,141
Received 2,966 Votes on 2,676 Posts
Looks like a heat pump with back up electrical heating coils.
I only see six wires. Did I miss one ?

These colors should match with the same letters on your new stat.
C---> blue
G---> green
R---> red
O---> orange
Y---> yellow
W2---> white with jumper to E


You must configure your new stat for your system type.
Function....
1 ---> 5
2 ---> 0
3---> 1
5 ---> 5

Name:  setup.JPG
Views: 1009
Size:  41.8 KB
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-15, 12:05 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a brown wire in there as well, that would be the 7th but it wasn't hooked up or anything, just wanted to make sure it didn't need to go on the new one.
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-15, 12:14 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't feel entirely to smart right now, I actually am pretty mind blown. I'm a helicopter mechanic and house stuff always seems to get the best of me......anyways this is the plate and terminals that I have I don't have a "C" terminal and w2 is on the same terminal as E. I think this is why I'm so confused.Name:  therm.jpg
Views: 1108
Size:  24.3 KB
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-15, 09:01 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,537
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
Connect white to Aux/E.
Connect orange to O/B.
Tape off the blue wire.

Orange went to an O/B terminal on the old stat.
Do you know if it was configured to be O or B?
Rheem, Ruud and Weatherking use B. Almost every other manufacture uses O.

Has anyone been working near your furnace recently?
A blank stat is often caused by a workman turning off the wrong light switch when leaving an attic or basement.

Another common cause for a blank stat is a backed up AC drain tripping a float switch in a secondary pan under the cooling coil.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: