T-Stat Wiring Problem but T-Stat Works

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-31-15, 01:37 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DFW (Garland), TX
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
T-Stat Wiring Problem but T-Stat Works

Just installed the Honeywell RTH8580WF T-Stat and it works fine. Unfortunately I'm not able to secure it to to the wall because the wiring sticks out of the wall too far for the thermostat to lay flush. I'm unable to push it in and also tried to pull the wire from the attic to pull it up in the wall but to no avail. I wasn't able to see the actual wire going into the wall from the attic so it might be secured or stuck there. Should I cut the wires and re splice or try to pull up the wire bundle from the attic?

Also I noticed the individual wire coating is coming off some of the wires (close to wall). (See picture.) Could this be a potential problem? Would liquid rubber be good for this situation? It was a lot more obvious on my cell phone when I could zoom in
Name:  20150731_115220.jpg
Views: 167
Size:  23.6 KB
 
  #2  
Old 07-31-15, 02:30 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Enlarge the hole, in the wall. That will give you some room to push the harness into the wall.
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-15, 09:34 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DFW (Garland), TX
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank Pulpo. That would be an easy fix as well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: