Honeywell rth6580wf install issues


  #1  
Old 08-01-15, 03:31 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell rth6580wf install issues

I have a trane xr 11 outside unit, model # 2twr1042a100ab. Name:  outside unit label.jpg
Views: 1818
Size:  48.5 KB
Air handler is a trane, model # twe042c140c0.
Name:  th_air handler label.jpg
Views: 1411
Size:  42.6 KB
There is also a Carrier Weathermaker two-zone comfort zoning system control board next to the air handler.
Name:  th_zoning baord.jpg
Views: 1722
Size:  41.7 KB
I've already removed my old totaline tstat and replaced it with a honeywell rth6580wf. It seems to be working fine. Current outdoor temp is 99, inside is 73. The reason I'm not sure if its wired correctly is because when I initially installed it, during setup, I chose option 5(heat pump with backup or aux heating)) for function 1. I chose this setting because the last hvac tech that came out said that it had aux and emergency heat. However he said if i ever needed to activate emergency heat, I would need to go to the control board in the attic and turn the switch on. Upon finishing setup, thermostat came on in cool mode but hot air was coming out of supply vents. Seemed like the emergency heat strips were on. So I went back into setup and chose option 0(Heat/cool: gas,oil or electric heating with central air conditioning). Finished setup and its blowing cold out of the supply vents. Did I choose a wrong setting during setup? What settings should i choose? Is the wiring right?

Old tstat wiring.
Name:  th_old tstat wiring.jpg
Views: 1835
Size:  27.8 KB

new tstat wiring.
Name:  th_new tstat wiring.jpg
Views: 2593
Size:  22.6 KB

Zoning control wiring.
Name:  th_zoning board wiring.jpg
Views: 1845
Size:  35.3 KB
 
  #2  
Old 08-01-15, 06:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You are correct to configure for multistage conventional in that application. The Weather Maker control board will control the reversing valve.

The zone control board is configured to control the indoor fan so you don't even need to configure for electric heat.
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-15, 10:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I had tried two different heat pump configurations (with and without aux heat). Like I said in the OP, with aux made heat come out while in cool mode, and without aux wouldn't do anything in cool mode. So, with the tstat in multistage conventional mode, in the winter, will the aux heat come on if the heat pump cant satisfy the tstat?
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-15, 06:53 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yes, it will use w2 heat for Aux heat if you configure for multistage conventional in that application.
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-16, 08:31 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heat issues

Well, since winter is upon us, I finally get to use my heat some. After a high electric bill, and some investigation, I realized my outside unit is not running. Went to the attic to check the zoning control board and there were 3 red LED's lit. According to the manual, they mean that the fan is energized, reversing valve is engaged, second stage heat is on, and emergency heat is on. Did I setup the thermostat wrong? It worked fine in the summer.
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-16, 05:10 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Option chosen during setup

1------0
3------1
5------9
12-----0

I just turned on the a/c to make sure outside unit would come on and it did. Still cant get it to come on for heat.Name:  20160106_205859.jpg
Views: 955
Size:  22.7 KB
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-16, 05:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
I'm looking into it now. One problem is you have a Trane heat pump which uses the O reversing valve setup. That means when the reversing valve is powered.... you get A/C.... not heat.

Houston is more familiar with your Carrier setup. I'll have to do a little reading on it. If I don't get an answer for you.... Houston surely will.


I see two orange wires on the O terminal.... Remove them for now. You should get heat from the heatpump.
 
  #8  
Old 01-07-16, 06:41 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Set the jumpers for HP on the zone control board.
 
  #9  
Old 01-08-16, 05:56 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Unplug jumper J1 and plug it in 1 pin up.
J3 appears to be set for HP already.
 
  #10  
Old 01-08-16, 04:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks f or your help Houston and PJ. I moved the jumper on J1 as you said, but the heat wouldn't come on. So, I changed the setting on the tstat - changed function 1 option from 0 to 5(heat pump with backup or auxillary heating). The outside unit came on and it seemed like cool air coming out of the vents, so I checked the zone board and the lights on indicated that first stage cooling and first stage heat were on. I assumed they both shouldn't be on at the same time, so I turned the system back off. I'm attaching a pic of the wiring at the outside unit just in case it might help. Also another, hopefully better pic of the zone board wiring. Do I need to remove the orange wires hooked to the O terminal on the zone board? Name:  20160108_185259-1.jpg
Views: 854
Size:  34.3 KB Name:  20160108_190907.jpg
Views: 1075
Size:  37.1 KB
 
  #11  
Old 01-08-16, 05:25 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://dms.hvacpartners.com/docs/100...NEKIT-10SI.pdf

Actually 1 was already correct at the furnace setting. Page 5 into the manual states that HP should not be selected.

It is the equipment jumper that we should inspect. If that jumper isn't making good contact we can use a yellow slip on squeeze connector for a jumper. I call them spade connectors but when I was a kid I called them speaker wire connectors.

We need HP jumpered on the equipment selection.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: