Honeywell rth6580wf thermostat to system 2000 boiler

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-15, 05:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell rth6580wf thermostat to system 2000 boiler

Trying to hook up Honeywell thermostat rth6580wf to a system 2000 boiler. The current thermostat is an old Honeywell Mercury switch. There are 2 wires connected to the thermostat. The wires are very old. Was going to run new wires. Not sure where to hook up the wires to boiler for the new one. The directions say to you need a "C" wire to supply power to the new thermostat. Not sure where to hook it up at boiler.
 
  #2  
Old 10-18-15, 06:34 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,533
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Don't you see where the "old" wires come down from the living quarters and enter the aquastat ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-15, 10:09 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes I do. The terminals on the OLD thermostat don't have identifications on them.
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-15, 03:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Many boilers are not labeled R, W, and C. They have T and T.

It is often necessary to connect an external transformer to Rc and C on the new thermostat. Connect thermostat R(h) and W to the two wires that connect to T and T at the boiler.
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-15, 03:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,896
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
Does your boiler use one of these controllers ? If so... which one.

Heat Monitor | Home Heating Monitor | Classic System Manager

Name:  nest2000.jpg
Views: 3099
Size:  33.7 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: