Honeywell prestige 2.0 EIM wiring


  #1  
Old 10-21-15, 05:50 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Honeywell prestige 2.0 EIM wiring

hello, I have a goodman 3 ton 2 stage heat pump. I added a hot water coil to my duct work that is heated from my boiler. I would like to control this from my prestige stat. I have an aqua stat to control the fan, I am unsure of the wiring. Should I wire the zone valve thru the AUX. terminals and the aquq stat thru the G terminal ? And what settings do I need to change in the stat itself. Can anyone please help ? or send me a wiring diagram. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-21-15, 10:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

My partner, Houston, could answer that question for you. It comes down to setting up the thermostat for dual fuel. I'd think you'd want the heatpump off when the hot water coil is on.

He should be by later.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-15, 02:29 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for replying, yes I do want the heat pump off when the boiler is on. I just don't want to wire it incorrectly and damage something. Honeywell is no help. They told me to call a contractor. Thanks again I'll wait for Houston.
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-15, 02:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
How much of this installation is new?
Do you have any model numbers?
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-15, 03:08 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
everything is new. I can get you model #'s tomorrow. I'am at work
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-15, 02:53 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston, These are the model numbers


T-Stat.
Honeywell YTHX9421R5101WW


Blower
Goodman MBVC1600AA-1
Condenser
Goodman DSZC180361


Coil
Amana CHPF3743C6
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-15, 05:36 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
That is the easy part.

Did you mention a boiler, a valve and an aqua stat?

Is the valve a 3 way valve?

Is this part also new or is there an existing control?
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-15, 05:41 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, a zone valve on the boiler and an aquastat mounted at coil entry
 
  #9  
Old 10-22-15, 05:44 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its a one way valve . It is existing.
 
  #10  
Old 10-22-15, 05:46 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Do you have any numbers for these parts?

What control currently runs the boiler?
A 2 wire 24 volt round thermostat?
 
  #11  
Old 10-22-15, 05:53 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its a one way valve . It is existing.
 
  #12  
Old 10-22-15, 05:56 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
How did you turn on heat before you got the heat pump?
 
  #13  
Old 10-22-15, 05:56 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No numbers, yes it is a 2 wire 24 volt stat
 
  #14  
Old 10-22-15, 06:01 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had a propane furnace I did not use anymore, just used it as a air handler for the hot water coil and ac.
 
  #15  
Old 10-22-15, 06:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Okay, we can treat these two wire as the T and T terminals found on boilers.

Looks like I have this for the heat pump...



This is what I have for the air handler...



I will look into a diagram...
 
  #16  
Old 10-22-15, 06:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, Yeah, a diagram would be good. My EIM for the stat has an aux.terminal ?
 
  #17  
Old 10-22-15, 07:54 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Connect the 2 "T" wires that went to the old thermostat to the isolating relay terminals 1 and 3.





I added the isolating relay to give us defrost capability.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=sr_1_2&sr=8-2
 
  #18  
Old 10-23-15, 03:21 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Houston, the T and T terminals on the relay are just normally open ? Energized by AUX. and Common ? What controls the fan ? I don't see the aquastat involved ? And do you no what settings I need to change in the stat. itself ? I thought I read we can set it up by outdoor temp. to lock out heat pump ? Thanks so much for your time. Greatly Appreciated.
 
  #19  
Old 10-23-15, 04:10 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yes, yes, G from the EIM to the air handler, G controls the fan.

That thermostat has a text based configuration setup.

Set it up for dual fuel, thermostat controls fan, the best lockout temperature varies. I would start at around 35 degrees with that setup.

The defrost control may to struggle to temper the cool mode that occurs when defrosting with dual fuel if you only have a 2 way valve. (Depending on the piping because you need a loop, and the use of an ambient control for the boiler)
 
  #20  
Old 10-23-15, 05:13 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I run the G from the EIM to the air handler thru N.C. contacts on the relay and then run another hot lead thru the N.O. contacts on the relay thru the aqua stat to then feed G. on the air handler so the fan will come on when the aquastat reaches desired temp ? (like 160 degrees) ?
 
  #21  
Old 10-23-15, 01:44 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey Houston, Maybe I'm over thinking this ? If the thermostat controls the fan, does it only call for fan when AUX. is energized ?
 
  #22  
Old 10-23-15, 04:55 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The fan is energized with the outdoor unit.

Provide the model number of any additional components that you want in the diagram.
 
  #23  
Old 10-23-15, 06:33 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a little confused, If I'm using the aux. or fossil fuel heat the outdoor unit will not be energized ? Please explain.
 
  #24  
Old 10-23-15, 06:48 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
What do you want to do about defrost mode?

The heat pump will blow 55 degree air into the conditioned space every time that it goes into defrost mode.
 
  #25  
Old 10-23-15, 07:13 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't know.should I use the aauastat thru G. ? Thats how I had it set up and it worked well .?
 
  #26  
Old 10-24-15, 10:44 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston, not really sure what is affecting defrost mode ?
 
  #27  
Old 10-24-15, 04:43 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Connect handler G to the relay terminal 4, EIM G to 5, and the aqua stat to 6.
Connect air handler R to the inlet side of the aquastat.

I still don't feel comfortable blindly throwing wire connections on the Internet when I don't know what I have.
I am confident that a model number is on that aqua-stat. Some pictures of the connections would be of assistance.

I hope nothing gets damaged.
If the aquastat is fed from a different transformer an additional isolating relay would help prevent 48 volts or 120 volts from hitting 24 volt circuits.
 
  #28  
Old 10-24-15, 06:13 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I will get model number of aquastat and puctures before I wire it.
 
  #29  
Old 10-25-15, 08:43 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey Houston, honeywell aquastat L006C. The zone valve is a hoeywell 40004850_001. I can wire it any way you like, I can use 24volts from the air handler or my boiler. Whatever you think.
 
  #30  
Old 10-25-15, 08:47 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
L6006c . Aquastat. Sorry
 
  #31  
Old 10-25-15, 08:59 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also have an APRILAIRE model 400 humidifier
 
  #32  
Old 10-25-15, 09:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
The aquatstat is more than likely placed in the G line so that the blower won't operate if the water isn't hot enough OR will turn the blower on when water gets hot enough.

The aquastat is just a SPDT switch activated by heat.
 
  #33  
Old 10-25-15, 09:45 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you add the aquastat and zone valve and relay wiring to the diagram? Just easier for me to read. And also the humidifier ? I ordered the relay from amazon. I really appreciate your time. Thanks again.
 
  #34  
Old 10-26-15, 04:57 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston, Are you out there ?
 
  #35  
Old 10-26-15, 07:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I drew it up with G going through the relay but the storm knocked out power so I lost the update.

I've gotta learn to save more often.

I didn't add the valve in the drawing. The old stat may have made a valve with an end switch. Whatever the old stat made should still energize as it had (unless this valve wasn't in use with the old application).

Back to the problem that I was referring to earlier... if we isolate the fan circuit until the aqua stat hits setpoint the defrost function will freeze up the indoor coil.

Are you familiar with the way that a heat pump goes into cool mode when it defrost and it tempers the cold air with the auxiliary heat.

I don't see this setup keeping the space warm without an ambient control on that boiler and a 3 way valve.

The boiler should work fine for emergency heat but defrost will pose an issue.

PJ do you have any ideas?
 
  #36  
Old 10-27-15, 03:01 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's exactly how it worked. The stat. energized the valve, made the end switch, which turned on the circ. pump. Once the temp. at the aquastat made that switch the fan would come on. Until desired temp was made. I am familiar with the heat pump going into cooling to defrost, but I am not familiar with what tells it to go into defrost or how long. But if the outdoor temp shuts the heat pump off, why would it go into defrost ? Just trying to understand. Sorry about the storm. hope everything is well. If you can, can you add the humidifier to he diagram as well ? I would use the 24v. from the blower. Thanks
 
  #37  
Old 10-27-15, 03:05 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or , should I just keep the hot water coil on a separate stat. ? That's how I had it. That stat got the 24v. from the boiler. I just really wanted to condense it to the one stat.
 
  #38  
Old 10-27-15, 04:03 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Connecting both systems to one thermostat is fine.

Either way we have a question of tempering the cold air we are going to get in defrost mode.

We can simply not connect heat pump W to anything and we get the same result as having two separate controls.

We get 55 degree air blowing into the house every time that we enter defrost mode.

Do we have an ambient control on the boiler at this time?
 
  #39  
Old 10-27-15, 07:20 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no ambient control on boiler. not familiar with that. what would that do ? is that an outdoor sensor ?
 
  #40  
Old 10-28-15, 03:37 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston, should I get an electric coil to take care of the defrost ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: