Geothermal Heat Pump Doesn't Use Stage 2 Heat

Old 12-15-15, 07:20 AM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Geothermal Heat Pump Doesn't Use Stage 2 Heat

I'm new to geothermal systems after 35 years of living with gas fired forced air furnaces. We have a new house with a 3.5 ton Bosch ground source heat pump and a Honeywell Prestige RedLink IAQ thermostat with EIM (THX9421). This is our second winter in the house and in general, we've been very happy with the heating and cooling system. My only "issue" is the system doesn't enter stage 2 heat under normal circumstances. This is an "issue" because the discharge air temperature is about 70 degrees F. while running in stage 1. Everything is fine until the outside air temp falls below 10 degrees or so. Below 10 degrees, the furnace struggles to keep the house warm. Last year we simply ran the stat at 67 degrees and dressed more warmly.

While poking around in the stat's STATUS page I noticed that stage 1 is active when the stat calls for heat, but stage 2 remains OFF. I can force the system into stage 2 by setting the stat set point up 2 degrees or by manually selecting stage 2 in the installer test page which indicates the system is wired correctly.

I've reviewed the ISU settings numerous times and everything appears to be correct;

ISU 3050 Staging Control = COMFORT
ISU 3021 Finish with High Heat Stage = ON
ISU 3150 Heat Cycles/Hr Stage 1 = 3
ISU 3150 Heat Cycles/Hr Stage 2 = 3

In Honeywell's installation manual (Page 97) under the heading STAGING CONTROL there's one statement I don't understand;

Heat Differential
The indoor temperature must drop to the selected differential
setting before the thermostat will turn on the stage of heating.
For example, if stage 2 is set to 2 F (1.0 C), the indoor
temperature must be 2 F (1.0 C) away from the setpoint
before stage 2 turns on. When set to Comfort, the thermostat
will use the stage of heating as needed to keep the indoor