Nest with Conventional Cooling and Aux Heat Strip


  #1  
Old 01-12-16, 07:26 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nest with Conventional Cooling and Aux Heat Strip

Have a conventional straight cool air handler in Florida with a 10kw aux heat strip and cannot get the heat to turn on with nest. White on w1. Cant find any sketches of conventional air with aux heat.....only heat pumps.

Anyone know?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-12-16, 07:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Here is the wiring for a system such as yours....

Name:  nestA.jpg
Views: 7724
Size:  33.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-16, 08:05 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. We saw that and thats the way we have it wired but it doesnt turn on the heat. All I could get out of googling and tech support is that the heat is emergency or aux and not primary or something like that.
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-16, 08:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
What did you have for a stat before the nest and how was it connected ?
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-16, 08:32 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
It wouldn't be called Aux heat if you do not have a heat pump.

It is just called heat.

The thermostat needs to control fan operation in heat mode with that application.

If the W1 is highlighted yellow select it and set it for electric heat.
 
  #6  
Old 01-13-16, 04:55 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks HOUSTON 204. Almost there MAYBE. When I go to the equipment setting and "pro setup", the W1 IS highlighted yellow. I continue with that and it's preset with "conventional heat" / "electric" / "forced air". Then it turns Green and I go to done.

BUT, it still doesn't work and when I go back in and see what color it is now, it turns back to yellow. Each time I change it, it changes to green and then when I go back after seeing that it is not working, it is yellow again.

Also, FYI, when I set it for heating, the fan DOES BLOW and the air is circulating through the vents, the Nest shows heating and is orange in color, but the temperature of the air does not change. I have the same system upstairs on a heat pump, with nest, and when the heat is on the air temp is about 110. With this unit, the air stays in the 70 area.

I have checked the inside of the air handler to make sure the "fuse" is ok, and it is. Also, we had the "heat strip" changed last year from a 5KW to 10KW, but really don't remember if it ever worked or if we even used it.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
 
  #7  
Old 01-13-16, 05:45 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Bypass the thermostat.

R,G, and W should give you power to the fan and heat strips.

A wire nut might be required to test.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 01-14-16 at 05:47 AM.
  #8  
Old 01-13-16, 06:04 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Bypass the thermostat.

R,G, and W should give you power to the fan and heat strips.

A wire but might be required to test."

BEFORE I try this, I want to make sure you mean that I should CONNECT the R/G/W wire all together??

THANKS!
 
  #9  
Old 01-13-16, 08:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Yes..... connect R, W, and G together.

If you get heat now..... the stat is the issue.
If you get the blower but no heat..... it's the electric heater section.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: