New thermostat on a Bryant heat pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-16, 04:45 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New thermostat on a Bryant heat pump

Hey guys,
I have a Bryant heat pump model# 661 CJ030-A. I want to replace the thermostat with a new one. The old one works but is wired into the wall in the hottest room in the house. I bought a new wireless (not wi-fi) thermostat. It's a Wi-Stat T55 series Model # T-55-B4B11-S-1 Non-programmable 2 stage heat/1 stage cool. Here's how the old one is wired: Left column top to bottom:
G=Green wire
C=Blue
R=Red
W1
Y=W1 and Y are jumpered and the yellow wire attached to the Y
Right column, top to bottom
L=blank
W2
E=W2 and E are jumpered and the white wire attached to the W2 and E
B=blank
O=Orange wire.
New Wi-Stat thermostat
3 different terminal blocks
Top one is R W2
Right terminal block has C C
Bottom terminal block: B G R Y O
Not sure how to wire the new one. Any help or direction on wiring the new one would be greatly appreciated.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-15-16, 10:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,557
Received 1,038 Votes on 962 Posts
I don't recognize that stat or the company. I've found very little online technical information.
I've only found the stat available on eBay. I hope it's reliable. You don't get much at that price.
Wireless Heat Pump Thermostat | eBay

I can not find any wiring diagrams online for that stat. That doesn't leave me with a good feeling.

I see 2 C connections and 2 R connections ????
You're going to need to post the wiring instructions for us to help.
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-16, 11:25 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring instructions

Here's a couple of pictures from the instructions. The link was the same thermostat that I bought. Let me know if this is enough to go on. The only wiring instructions are in the first pic. The second pic. is the operation of the therm. This thermostat is built like a tank. If you don't feel that we have enough to go on please don't worry about it. If you can recommend another wireless therm. that would work please do. Many thanks.
 
Attached Images   
  #4  
Old 02-15-16, 11:46 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I posted a couple of more pictures in thread.
 
  #5  
Old 02-15-16, 11:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,557
Received 1,038 Votes on 962 Posts
Is there nothing further on actual connections to the new stat ?
Is a jumper required between the two R's ?
Is a jumper required between the two C's ?

Name:  009.jpg
Views: 295
Size:  39.5 KB

G=Green -------------------> G
C=Blue ---------------------> C (choose 1)
R=Red ---------------------> R (jumper R to R if not discussed)
W1 & Y = Yellow ---------> Y
W2 & E = White ---------> W2
O = Orange ---------------> O

Set switch to electric.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-15-16 at 12:15 PM.
  #6  
Old 02-15-16, 12:08 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, just the last two pictures is all it has for the wiring inst. The rest of the instructions are how to set up the thermostat. It doesn't say anything about jumpers in the instructions.
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-16, 12:08 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update:
I got the thermostat hooked up and I ran it through it's paces and it's working fine. I hooked it up just as you suggested. I think the thermostat was the "House" thermostat for a HVAC company. Maybe they went out of business and a vendor on Ebay bought them. Sorry it took so long to get back to you but I couldn't get to it until today. Many thanks to you Pjmax! One last question, what do you generally set your "differential setting" to? I set mine to one degree. again, many thanks for your time and effort. Robin
 
  #8  
Old 02-17-16, 12:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,557
Received 1,038 Votes on 962 Posts
The smaller the differential the closer the temperature will remain to the setpoint but it will run more often.

Try it at 1 and if it cycles too much set it to 2.
 
  #9  
Old 02-17-16, 12:59 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll keep an eye on it and see how it works once cooling season get's here (about May here in Fl.) I moved the therm. to a better location so I shouldn't get the constant on off cycles I had before when the old therm. was right by the hottest window in the house.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: