Help with new thermostat


  #1  
Old 05-05-16, 06:06 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help with new thermostat

Planning on buying a new digital thermostat this afternoon but wanted to ensure a new model would be capable of being installed with the current wiring. Most likely going to get a Honeywell RTH2300B1012 unless there are recommendations otherwise. The current set-up has two red wires running to the R terminal, a separate red wire running to YY2, a blue wire running to G, and a white wire running to WW1. Any guidance is appreciated for how these would be mapped in a more modern thermostat.

Name:  IMG_1261.jpg
Views: 401
Size:  28.5 KB
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-16, 11:50 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,640
Received 72 Upvotes on 65 Posts
The new stat that you want will work.
Wire it the same as the existing thermostat.
Connect the 2 wires on R to either R on the new stat and keep the jumper between RH and RC found on the new stat installed.

Do you have electric heat or gas heat?
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-16, 01:23 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Electric heating and cooling. Stupid question, what's the jumper? And I'm assuming there will be spaces for RC and RH on the new thermo. Thank you very much for your help!
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-16, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,641
Received 3,324 Upvotes on 2,985 Posts
Two red wires running to R ----- R and leave the R/Rc jumper in place that comes with the stat.
Red wire running to YY2v------- Y
Blue wire running to G ---------- G
White wire running to WW ----- W


Move jumper JP1 on back of stat to HE location.

Name:  jumoer.JPG
Views: 138
Size:  23.5 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: