No AC power at thermostat

Old 10-16-16, 07:43 PM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No AC power at thermostat

Hello all. I am new to the forum. I am a general handyman by trade and able to do most anything. This is a personal issue I am having with my HVAC. It is a Goodman Unit. My wife said it started blowing hot air one day while in Cool mode only. I was at work and had her flip the breaker and she said it was still blowing hot air, so I am doubting that was it was doing, since it was the correct breakers. Anyway, now the stat says no ac power. Here is where im confused and sure it is something simple that I dont understand about the units.
On the transformer, I get 120V on the 120V line on the transformer using the ground wire to the chassis for my neg lead. I also get 120V on the common terminal of the transformer using the same negative. Is that supposed to happen on the common? i then have 27V coming off the low voltage terminals of the transformer. If i check voltage on the Red going up to the stat using the chassis as my negative I get 27V.
Broken wire? Bad transformer? Losing ground? i know this has to be something simple. Thanks all

Old 10-16-16, 08:32 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,950 Upvotes on 3,543 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I also get 120V on the common terminal of the transformer using the same negative.
Are you saying from the 24VAC common terminal to ground you measure 120v. ?
How can that be if it's a jumper between the transformer and ground ??

You haven't given us any info on your system. If I had to guess I'd say you have a heat pump system. The reversing valve in the outside condensor shorted out and blew the 3A fuse on the control board.

You need to measure for 24VAC (27vac is ok) between the R and the C screws terminals on the board in the air handker. If it's not there then check the 3A plastic fuse.

Old 10-17-16, 02:10 PM
P