carrier to honeywell thermostat wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-27-16, 09:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
carrier to honeywell thermostat wiring

Carrier air to air heat pump (Model FV4BNF003000AAAA) with electric backup, dehumidifier and outdoor temp and humidity sensor. From the unit to the thermostat I have 10 wires, 2 of them being my outdoor temp and humidity sensor.

Carrier thermostat TSTATCCPRHO1-B,
Terminals and wiring are O/W2 (Orange), Y1/W2 (Pink), R (Red), G (Green), Y/Y2 (Yellow), W/W1 (White), C (Black), DHUM (Blue), HUM (Empty), B (Empty), S1 (Brown), S2 (Grey). S1&2 are my outdoor temp and humidity sensor.

Honeywell thermostat TH8321R1001 VisionPRO 8000.
Terminals are C, K, Rc, R, U1 (x2), S1 (x2), O/B, Y, G, AUX-E, Y2 and L/A.

Can anyone tell me which colour wires on the Carrier go to which terminals on Honeywell? I called Carrier and they wouldn't help and told me I had to call a local HVAC company to install it. So I did that and ended up calling 2 different companies and neither hooked it up the same way and neither way worked!
Name:  IMG_1153.jpg
Views: 10126
Size:  33.1 KBName:  IMG_1157.jpg
Views: 6593
Size:  38.5 KBName:  IMG_1591.jpg
Views: 8381
Size:  44.7 KBName:  IMG_1196.jpg
Views: 6800
Size:  39.8 KB
 

Last edited by mikedmars; 10-27-16 at 10:08 AM. Reason: Updated info of unit
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-16, 09:29 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
You were close.

Move the white wire to Aux/E along with the pink wire that is already there.
Place a piece of wire between the unused U1 terminal and Rc.
Keep the existing jumper wire between R and Rc.
( Rc,R, and one of the U1 terminals all connect to the red wire)

Did you buy a new Honeywell remote sensor or are you going to try to use the existing Carrier remote sensor? I would get a Honeywell remote sensor.

Configure the new thermostat for heat pump with Aux heat. Energize the reversing valve for cool mode.

Configure the U1 terminals for dehumidification ( normally closed/Open on humidity rise)

Configure the stat to use the remote sensor then reenter Create/Setup to tell the stat to use the sensor. Decide if you want to average the internal sensor and remote sensor or only use the remote sensor.
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-16, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had already set up the thermostat as a 1-speed heat pump with electric back up then ran the installer test for the fan, cool, heat, emheat stages and the system seems to be working without issues. Based on the low voltage wiring diagrams, how the fan Coil and condenser were already hooked up and the manual for the new thermostat here is how I hooked it up:

New Thermostat:
Name:  IMG_1778.jpg
Views: 4925
Size:  50.5 KB

Fan Coil Wiring Diagram:
Name:  IMG_1783.jpg
Views: 15741
Size:  45.8 KB

Fan Coil Post Label:
Name:  IMG_1782.jpg
Views: 5549
Size:  50.3 KB

Fan Coil (as wired upon original installation):
Name:  IMG_1765.jpg
Views: 4775
Size:  36.3 KB

Outside Condenser Wiring (as wired upon original installation):
Name:  IMG_1770.jpg
Views: 4824
Size:  48.4 KB

New Honeywell thermostat Post Identifiers:
Name:  IMG_1784.jpg
Views: 5526
Size:  49.3 KB

As for the sensor I am still using the Carrier sensor though it is not giving me the exterior humidity just temperature.
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-16, 06:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
You still need the jumper from R, Rc to U1.

Name:  IMG_1778.jpg
Views: 5014
Size:  43.2 KB
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-16, 10:52 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
White on Y2 would be a very expensive mistake.

The electric heat strip would become energized any time that a cooling demand greater than 1įF is present.

Tape it off or land it along with the pink wire on Aux/E.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 11-01-16 at 06:31 AM.
  #6  
Old 01-03-18, 08:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I am trying to get my Nest 2nd gen installed. I think I have the wires correct, but the color code for the nest doesnt match what I have on my Carrier unit.

the difference is the blue wire is my W2, the black wire is my C and the grey wire is my Dhume

THe Nest works currently with heat, but I tried the fan and it didnt come on
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-18, 08:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, I had 10 wires on my carrier thermostat, I know from posts here and on the Nest site that S1 and S2 arenít used.

Red wire (R) goes to Rh (power)
Green wire (G) goest to G (fan)
Yellow wire (Y1) goes to Y1
Orange wire (O/B) goes to O/B
Grey wire (DHume) goes to *
Blue wire (Y1/W2) goes to W2
Black wire (C) goes to C
White wire (W/W1) goes to W1
Pink wire S1 NA
Brown wire S2 NA

So what am I missing? I dont think I have them wrong, but I have questions about the location and color codes
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-18, 09:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
Nest only has suggested wiring colors. Wiring colors are not written in stone.
You need to go by what color was on what old thermostat terminal.

Blue wire (Y1/W2) goes to W2
Y1/W2 ??
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-03-18 at 10:07 AM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: