Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Hooking up a Nest 3rd Gen to a Carrier Water Source Heat Pump (HELP NEEDED)

Hooking up a Nest 3rd Gen to a Carrier Water Source Heat Pump (HELP NEEDED)


  #1  
Old 12-15-16, 05:04 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hooking up a Nest 3rd Gen to a Carrier Water Source Heat Pump (HELP NEEDED)

Hello,

I need help connecting a 3rd generation Nest thermostat to a 1.5 Ton Carrier Water Source Heat Pump.

I live in a condo with a common central AC and heating system on the roof. I have the Carrier heat pump within my unit.

I decided to upgrade to a Nest thermostat in July and it had worked throughout the warmer months providing cooling. However, during the winter, the thermostat has been giving me issues. The thermostat itself will activate the heater at a specific temperature, the heater will run for a little while, and then it will turn off, although I will still be able to hear the fan running. However, the actual heater unit itself will be inaudible. The Nest will continue in heat mode, yet the condo will not warm up.

I figured out a workaround to this. I would turn off the heater via the Nest Thermostat, wait a few minutes, and then turn it back on. It would start after a 5 minute delay, and the heater would run without problems and heat the condo. However, once the condo is heated, and I, for example, leave for the morning, and the heat is off, the problem of shutting off on its own continues when I come back home at the end of the day.

I have had a heating company take a look at the unit. They replaced the valve and I continued to have issues, and they are now suggesting replacing the whole unit as it may have a "faulty electric board". However, they did not look into the Nest wiring itself, and it does not make sense to me replace the unit when it (sometimes) works.

I want to confirm that I have set the unit up correctly:

This is a picture of my Carrier Unit

Name:  IMG_3196.jpg
Views: 1844
Size:  40.7 KB

This is how the prior thermostat wiring looked

Name:  IMG_2523.jpg
Views: 2888
Size:  22.9 KB

This is how my current Nest wiring is set up

Name:  IMG_3387.jpg
Views: 2856
Size:  13.3 KB


Please reply when you can!

Thank you in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 12-16-16, 10:48 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Does the thermostat acknowledge the C wire?





If your Water Source Heat Pump is giving you an FP1 or FP2 error it is not the thermostat. Open the door the next time it drops out and count the flashes on the control board.

http://www.climatemaster.com/downloads/97B0001N06.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-16, 10:54 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You can bring up past error codes on your Carrier ( Climate Master) heat pump...



 
  #4  
Old 12-17-16, 07:44 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the thermostat does acknowledge the C-wire.
There are no error messages from the Heat Pump itself.
I'm wondering if the set up on my Nest is incorrect.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/he...heat-pump.html

I also found this prior post with someone who had the same initial thermostat wiring as mine, and he was told that Nest was not supported with that type of heat pump, but did not clarify as to why?

Thanks in advance
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-16, 06:44 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I would also use a Honeywell thermostat but that Nest will support that heat pump.

If you temporarily jumper the 2 test terminals that I highlighted on the board it will bring up past error code.

Bet it is an FP1 or Fp2 error.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-16, 02:17 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply.
The heater actually hasn't dropped out in quite some time.
I Was told that setting the valve to OPEN while it is running can help the issue, which it seems to have done.
The green light is not flashing when I open the door.
Can you confirm I have the Nest thermostat settings and wiring correct?
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-16, 09:07 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Is brown on Y and white on O/B?
Is O/B energized to cool?

What valve?
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-16, 09:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
Yeah..... I see issues with the wiring. The "was" picture is using different colors than your nest diagram.

Name:  IMG_2523.jpg
Views: 1330
Size:  43.3 KB

R-----> red
Y-----> brown
C----> black
W----> white
G----> green

Ahh.... that is just a representative diagram to show whats connected.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-23-16 at 08:18 AM. Reason: typo
  #9  
Old 12-21-16, 06:53 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_3411.jpg
Views: 1302
Size:  24.3 KB

This is a picture of the wiring on the Nest thermostat itself.

Name:  IMG_3412.jpg
Views: 1401
Size:  23.3 KB

This is a picture of the valve that is connected to my heater. I believe it controls the water source?
 
  #10  
Old 12-22-16, 09:59 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The stat connections look good.

Manually opening that valve would only help for one cycle.

Where does that valve wiring connect to the heat pump?

Do you see 2 pins on the control board labeled Test Pins?
 
  #11  
Old 01-10-17, 03:48 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help.

I am unsure as to how to to check the wiring as you mentioned above. Could you please explain how I would do that?

The heater was working great up until a few days ago.
Now it only heats up to about 70 or 71 degrees and then continues to run without increasing temperature. Yesterday my thermostat read 22 hours of usage.

What could the problem be?
 
  #12  
Old 01-14-17, 11:35 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts


In looking up your board I see that there is a known issue with it that matches your date code.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: