How do I choose a thermostat?


  #1  
Old 12-20-16, 06:47 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
How do I choose a thermostat?

I recently had my old furnace replaced with a 2-stage one (NG). I had a pretty new programmable touch-screen thermostat but could never take advantage of the set-back possibilities bc the old furn would hit the limit and take forever to ramp the temperature up.
The installer upsold me to a wifi Sensi thermostat and I went for it mainly because after rebates I pocket $50...so why not? The box says it's compatible with 4 or 5 wire systems & up to 4 stages of heating (& 2-stage cooling). There's nothing whatsoever in the setup menus about configuring it for multi-stage. Should it--or does it just "do its thing" closing contacts and the furnace makes all the "decisions"?

Also--I have a flow-through humidifier & humidistat on the furnace & the thermostat has a humidity indicator on the display but no way to connect it to control the humidifier. Doesn't humidity control make more sense at the thermo than a dumb humidistat on the return duct?

Should I sell off the wifi toy and get a different 'stat?
 
  #2  
Old 12-20-16, 07:19 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,047
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
hi, you didn't mention the exact model of the stat,one question I have is why the Genius that up sold the stat to you didn't take the time to help you set it up? it does appear there is a setting for 2 stage gas heat, double check the owners manual under contractor options or something like that.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-16, 10:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,107
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
Step 4.... indoor equipment configuration.... needs to be set to GA2 for two stage gas.

sensicomfort/pro-install-manual.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-16, 06:35 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Pete,
I guess when I changed it from Electric to Gas I did choose GA2. That's all there is to it...?
It's also set for 2-stage cooling (AC2). My AC is 8 years old... Is the number of stages set by the compressor or the furnace?
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-16, 06:41 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Geo--there's only one model Sensi.

I wasnt home to get the tutorial... Didn't know my service call was going to end up being a new furnace. Besides--the guy who came out to troubleshoot the old furn split once the B-team got there.
AND I had told him not to install it.

If this wifi 'stat does everything needed I'd prefer to keep it. Wife likes it. VERY few buttons on the unit, and a simple uncluttered display.
 
  #6  
Old 12-21-16, 06:37 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,121
Received 344 Votes on 297 Posts
Is the number of stages set by the compressor or the furnace?
The furnace will determine the number of stages of heating. It will kick in a 2nd set of burners as needed. The A/C condenser will determine the stages of cooling. If the A/C is the same one you had before it will only be a single stage unit. Multi stage units will have multiple compressors in them.
 
  #7  
Old 12-21-16, 07:22 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks T.I.

Over time I've noticed quite a few posts seeking help with Nest wifi 'stats but I haven't noticed issues with Sensi. I'm hoping that's because they're OK.
 
  #8  
Old 12-23-16, 08:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,107
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
The Sensi is newer and not as well exposed. The nest has been around much longer.
 
  #9  
Old 12-23-16, 09:27 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Can the Nest control a humidifier?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: