Lux thermostat replacement


  #1  
Old 02-03-17, 04:49 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lux thermostat replacement

I just bought a new house and was wanting to change the thermostat to a newer programmable one. I have done this for family and friends before but the wiring on this one is confusing me. The old thermostat is a luxpro DM2110 it has 5 wires hooked to it and one jumper. The 5 wires are R G B W2 and Y. The jumper goes from W2 to E. The new thermostat is a lux TX9600TS. Any and all help would be appreciated
 
  #2  
Old 02-04-17, 07:35 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Seems like you have a heat pump, but please post the make and model of your heat pump and air handler so we can be sure to give you good advice.
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-17, 08:55 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Posting the model number of the outdoor unit would be a good idea.

I would expect the old budget thermostat to have had a jumper between Y and W1 like the new one has in the wiring diagram for heat pump application.

Name:  Lux TX9600TS.jpg
Views: 9898
Size:  47.2 KB


Makes me wonder if you even have a heat pump.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-17, 02:35 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys.
The outsife and inside units are both Rheem. The outside unit is a 13PJL36A01. And the inside is a RHSL-HM3617JA.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-17, 02:46 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the current thermostat


The wiring in it

 
  #6  
Old 02-04-17, 02:58 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yep, you have a heat pump.
Red = Rc and Rh
Green = G
Yellow = Y and W1
White = W2
Brown = B
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-17, 03:04 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome OK thank I will wire it up here in a little bit. Thanks again
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-17, 07:00 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That did it. It is running great. Thanks again for everything.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-17, 02:14 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Did you install a piece of wire to connect W1 and Y as shown in the diagram?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: