Honeywell T5, I think I wired it wrong.


  #1  
Old 03-19-17, 08:42 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell T5, I think I wired it wrong.

I recently installed a Honeywell T5 at my house. This thing has been working great, UNTIL, I turned on the A/C the other day for the first time. It was still blowing heat. I have tried messing with the settings and reconfiguring the software, but only heat. I did at one point have it to when the A/C was supposed to be on, it was just the fan blowing, no heat, no cool. Here is a photo of the wiring of the original thermostat.
Name:  IMG_20170315_223519.jpg
Views: 10931
Size:  38.7 KB
My wiring has both a B wire and an O wire, but does not have a C wire. Here is the T5s wiring.
Name:  IMG_20170317_225934.jpg
Views: 9265
Size:  49.5 KB
Here is what I connected to the T5:
Red - R
Black - W2(Aux)
White - W
Yellow - Y
Green - G
Orange - O/B
Blue - C
Brown - Unused on both thermostats and not pictured.

I also have a brown wire that is unused. Any ideas? I had to go back to my original thermostat because it has been getting pretty warm here the past few days and we needed a little A/C.

Here are a few photos of the settings in the installation guide too. I have tried just about every configuration and it still didn't work.
Name:  IMG_20170317_230105.jpg
Views: 8169
Size:  33.1 KB
Name:  IMG_20170317_230110.jpg
Views: 8084
Size:  29.2 KB

Thank you in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 03-19-17, 09:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

We know the wiring on your old stat but we don't know what make and model the old stat is. We know you have a heatpump with backup electric heat.

Red - R .................. R (R switch up)
Black - W2 ............ tape off - not needed
White - W1 ........... W
Yellow - Y1 ............ Y
Green - G ............. G
Orange - O ........... O
Blue - B ............... ?

200- system type - heat pump
205 - equipment type - air to air
218 - reversing valve - O/B on cool
220 - cool stages - 1
221 - heat stage - 1 AUX/E - 1
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-17, 09:38 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a Trane unit and the thermostat is also Trane branded. I will check the model number later this evening when I get home.
 
  #4  
Old 03-20-17, 09:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Ok...so then the B is the C connection for your new stat.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-17, 03:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am pretty sure that is how I had it hooked up, except I did have the W2 hooked up. I will give it another go and see if that makes any difference.

It looks like my old thermostat is a Trane XR402

Here is a photo of the only sticker I could find on the old thermostat.
Name:  IMG_20170320_165423.jpg
Views: 6433
Size:  52.1 KB
 
  #6  
Old 03-20-17, 03:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Did you confirm the programming ?

The reversing valve must be powered for cooling. 218 - O on with cool.
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-17, 04:03 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wired it up and configured it just like described earlier. When I turn it to Cool and it kicks on, now it is blowing room temp air, seems like the compressor is not kicking on. Just 20 minutes ago it was cooling great with the old thermostat connected. Set the t-stat as follows: Heat Pump - Air to air - o/b on cool - cool stage 1 - heat stage - 1 emergency heat 1. Here is a photo of how it is hooked up.
Name:  IMG_20170320_175929.jpg
Views: 15050
Size:  38.7 KB
 
  #8  
Old 03-20-17, 04:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Is the R/Rc/Rh switch in the single wire position ?

===============================================

There is not a lot of wide spread tech info on that stat yet. In looking at your wiring in post 7 ...... you may have to move the W wire to W2 OR try connecting the black to W2.

W2 is labeled as AUX which means it needs an electric heat connection to it.
 
  #9  
Old 03-20-17, 04:12 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it is. I really appreciate all the help you are giving me too. I just don't know what it could be.
 
  #10  
Old 03-20-17, 04:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have a thermometer to check, but it feels like it might be blowing a little cooler than the ambient temp. Could my system possibly be 2 stage cool?
+++++++
I originally had the black wire connected to w2. I will give it a try again.
 
  #11  
Old 03-20-17, 04:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moved the White wire from W to W2. Blowing cold

I will let it cool back down in here and test to see if the heat works. Hopefully that gets everything going.

Thank you very much.
 
  #12  
Old 03-20-17, 04:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
The W wires are only for electric heat. That won't affect the A/C.
The white wire should not have any effect on A/C.

When you turn the stat to cooling.... wait 5 minutes and then go outside and see if the compressor is running. If it is..... then check the larger, insulated refrigerant line. It should get cold.
 
  #13  
Old 03-20-17, 04:39 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had to wait 5 minutes for the compressor to reset or whatever it does each time I remove the t-stat and change something then put it back on. I was going outside each time and checking the unit, it was running every time, but never cooling. When I moved the white wire from W to W2 and waited 5 minute then it kicked on and started cooling. No clue why. I will try to change it back later and see if it keeps it from cooling again. I found a little thermostat and check it at the return and in a vent before and after I changed the white wire. Before it was the same temp at both places. Now it is cooling about 20 degrees at the vent compared to the return.
 
  #14  
Old 03-20-17, 04:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
You may need to investigate further.

The orange O wire is supposed to control the reversing valve. It was connected to the O terminal on the old stat. Power on the valve = cooling. No power on the valve = heating

Pictures of the wiring at the air handler and at the heatpump are helpful.

The stat has a 5 minute compressor delay built in to keep from damaging the compressor from short cycling.
 
  #15  
Old 03-20-17, 04:52 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So open up the panel that has all of the wiring in it and take a photo? My old thermostat also had the 5 minute delay, so i was aware of that. My brother-in-law had his HVAC license a few years ago, but he got into drugs real bad and lost everything. I have helped him install a system before and have basic knowledge of how they work. This thing has just been throwing me for a loop.
 
  #16  
Old 03-20-17, 04:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
With pictures I can visually see where the wire are connected.
 
  #17  
Old 03-20-17, 05:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are a few photos from inside the unit.
Name:  IMG_20170320_185846.jpg
Views: 6358
Size:  50.7 KB
Name:  IMG_20170320_185858.jpg
Views: 6377
Size:  42.8 KB
 
  #18  
Old 03-20-17, 05:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
Bottom picture is good. See if you can pull the wiring out a little so I can see more of the connections.

The brown cable in the front with the unconnected white wire is the outside condensor cable. I need to see the stat cable behind it.
 
  #19  
Old 03-20-17, 05:55 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I changed it over to heat and heat works too. Here are a few photos from different angles.
Name:  IMG_20170320_194703.jpg
Views: 6390
Size:  47.5 KB
Name:  IMG_20170320_194753.jpg
Views: 6435
Size:  43.2 KB
 
  #20  
Old 03-20-17, 06:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
You can see the white and black thermostat wires combined and connected to the common white reheat line.

Single yellow wire..... one stage A/C.
Single white wire..... one stage heating coils.

Name:  diagram x.jpg
Views: 6773
Size:  49.6 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: