Bryant non programmable thermostat dead


  #1  
Old 09-17-17, 09:13 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Bryant non programmable thermostat dead

During the wall painting at home, I removed the thermostat wires from the unit, a simple Bryant no programmable one
Once I tried to reinstall it, simply it is dead
I verified the voltages and they don't look correct to me... Please comment about it
4 wires for heart & A/C
RED
GREEN
WHITE
YELLOW
and COMMON
Voltage from any wire to RED shows -11.2v (considering that I put the red test in RED and the other one in any of the others wires
At first, is it not 24v DC the average voltage I should read
Why the voltage appears switched?
Where is my problem? Is there any fuse in the fan (also Bryant)?
Thank you for your help
 
  #2  
Old 09-17-17, 10:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,431
Received 4,050 Upvotes on 3,633 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your meter needs to be set to AC voltage...... not DC.

Between red and common should be 24VAC.
You should actually measure 24vac between red and any other wire.

You should turn the furnace off when working on the thermostat. If it turns out that you don't have the 24vac.... then you may have a plastic type auto fuse on the control board.
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 09-21-17, 05:25 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Thank you very mcuh... Solved

Following your instructions, I was able to replace the fuse in the Heater unit and the thermostat worked again.
Thank you very much fro your help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: