Thermostat Wiring Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-17, 04:29 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Thermostat Wiring Problem

I had a Totaline 424-1010 thermostat with the following wiring at the thermostat:
Red wire to R
Green wire to G
Yellow wire to Y1
White wire to W2
Brown wire to B/O/W1
Blue wire to C

I have a Lennox outside air conditioner and inside electric furnace that is in the closet above the ceiling in a Condo.
I have tried two different modern Honeywell thermostats and both are doing similar things. I can get air conditioner to turn on and the fan with some wirings, but it comes out warmer than room air even though the compressor is running outside. I can get the fan to turn on with some wirings when requesting heat but it is not heating at all.
Currently I am trying to get the Honeywell RTH6360D T3 5-2 Day Programmable Thermostat to work. It has a nice plate with about 16 positions for wires so it would seem I should be able to get this to work.
I am fairly certain of these wires:
Red wire to R
Green wire to G
Blue wire to C
But I am not certain of these:
Yellow wire to Y, Y2, ???
White wire to W,W2,O,???
Brown wire to ???

the Lennox Air conditioner has
LENNOX HEAT PUMP-OUTDOOR UNITS
I OHPB18-9P, I OP
I OHPB24-9P, I OP
with a wiring chart.
the wires clearly are physically connected as follows:
Blue wire to C
Red wire to R
White wire to W1
Brown wire to O
Yellow wire to Y

the Fan is clearly Green wire because I can turn it on by jumping Red to G at the thermostat

I looked at the furnace but the wires going into it appear harder to figure out what they are hooked to without labels.
It appears the wires coming to the furnace from the thermostat are:
-Blue coming to the furnace and connecting to the non-red side of the transformer
-Red coming in to the furnace but going out a white wire and a red wire coming in the same pair going to the transformer red side of the transformer
-Green wire going in and hooking up to a relay
-The Yellow, Brown, and White wires come in from the thermostat and appear to be going out to the air conditioner without connecting to the furnace

-minor note: I tested the ohms between (the red wire connecting to the white wire coming into the furnace) and the red wire coming back in from that pair and it is infinite. I am wondering if these two wires are connected to some kind of motor with a pair of the same white and red wires. The motor has hoses hooked up to it near the furnace in the ventilation wall area. That motor is plugged into a 110v wall socket.

It appears I may have some heat pump(s) and maybe even a reverse thing going on. That may be why when I request air conditioning it turns the compressor on and tries to cool but the air comes out warmer than room air temperature. Most of the expected wiring does not appear to turn the furnace on at all.

I have pictures and can get more.
Thank-you very much for any help you can give.

Attached pictures show the Totaline thermostat and wiring, the Lennox Air conditioner wires hooked to the terminals clearly labeled, the Lennox circuit chart, the wiring coming into the furnace without labels.
 
Attached Images     
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-05-17, 04:44 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Post a picture of the new thermostat wire terminals.

Brown land on O/B
White lands on Aux/E

You must also configure for heat pump with Aux heat.

Post a picture of the configuration code in your manual if you cannot figure configuration out.
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-17, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,052
Received 1,107 Votes on 1,027 Posts
He mentioned he wants to use a Honeywell RTH6360D.
Don't see wiring on a 6360. I do see 6350 which will work.
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-17, 07:26 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yes, it looks like a new model. Honeywell’s site says that the online manual is coming soon.

We can still help if the OP posts the relevant pages.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-17, 05:07 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This manual is identical on almost all pages, including the wiring panel thing. Thank-you.

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...33-00202EF.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-17, 11:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,052
Received 1,107 Votes on 1,027 Posts
Interesting. Same basic setup as the new Lyric stats.... like the T5.

R ---- Red wire to R
G ----Green wire to G
Y1 ----Yellow wire to Y
B/O/W1 ----Brown wire to O/B
C ----Blue wire to C
W2----White wire to AUX (may need jumper to E)

option 200 --> 2
option 205 --> 7
option 218 --> O
option 220 --> 1
option 221 --> heat stages 1 ..... backup heat stages 1
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-17, 07:32 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wiring you posted is exactly how I had it wired (see attachment) and I am still getting these results:
-When I request cooling it turns the compressor on outside but the air comes out significantly warmer than room temperature.
-When I request heating it turns nothing on at all, no fan, nothing.
I jumped W2 to E as you suggested and it didn't change anything.

Also, I have no idea what this means:
<<<
option 200 --> 2
option 205 --> 7
option 218 --> O
option 220 --> 1
option 221 --> heat stages 1 ..... backup heat stages 1
>>>
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 11-09-17, 08:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,052
Received 1,107 Votes on 1,027 Posts
Did you read the manual that came with the stat ?
There is a section where you program the stat for your system.
The options numbers are what you set the options to,
 
  #9  
Old 11-11-17, 10:32 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank-you very much for your help. Programming the Setup seemed to do the trick. I had to jump W2 to E as you suggested. The air conditioner unit runs when heating but I assume that is because of the heat pump reversing. The air coming out is not real hot when the furnace is on. Is that normal? How exactly can I make sure the furnace is working properly with the air conditioning reversal working properly?

James
 
  #10  
Old 11-11-17, 11:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,052
Received 1,107 Votes on 1,027 Posts
Good to use a thermometer for testing.

Set the heat to just 1 degree over the room temperature. That will run just the heat pump for heat. Measure that. Now set the temperature to 5 degrees over the room temperature. That will run the heat pump and the electric heat. It may take a few minutes for the electric heat to start up. You could also run the thermostat in Emergency mode to measure just the electric heating part.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: