Need Help Wiring Honeywell Lyric T5 to Trane 4WCX Heat Pump

Old 12-08-17, 11:04 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need Help Wiring Honeywell Lyric T5 to Trane 4WCX Heat Pump

Hello:

I am trying to set up a new Honeywell Lyric T5 WiFi thermostat to replace an old Honeywell Focus Pro. I've read through these forums and found posts from people with similar but not identical challenges and am hoping for some assistance. I'm not an electrical expert so bear with me.

The old thermostat was wired as follows:
Red --> R+RC
Blue --> O/B
Green --> G
Yellow --> Y

There was no common wire (C) hooked up, however there are several wires tucked behind the wall plate. They are orange, brown, black and white.

I got on my roof to try and trace the wires back to the control panel to see which one might be the C wire -- I didn't find a C terminal but I did read through the product literature for my Trane 4WCX3036 system and can see that the common wire is labeled B in these models. http://www.americancoolingandheating...ifications.pdf. I am also not certain if I am looking at the right control panel -- I will post a photo below for reference. I could not see a circuit board and I am assuming the plastic wire harness is what I should be looking at. My questions are as follows:

1. Am I looking in the right place for my Trane system or should I be looking for a different circuit board?
2. If this is the right connection point, from the photo it looks like the B (common) wire is Blue. O could be black or orange but I am not sure? Would I put one of these in the O/B slot?
3. If the B wire is not the common and is supposed to stay in O/B as it was before, which would be the common and is it already hooked up on the heat pump end?
3. Once I hook the system up properly would I program the thermostat to O/B on heat or O/B on cool?

If I can get these questions answered I think I can get the problem solved. Thank you!

Carrie W.

Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
Old 12-08-17, 11:12 AM