Sensi (Emerson) wi-fi t-stat unreliable?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-18, 09:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,475
Sensi (Emerson) wi-fi t-stat unreliable?

For a year I've had a Sensi Wi-Fi thermostat that I use as a basic t-stat. Original model, not the Touch version.
I don't use the Wi-Fi and the temp isn't programmed. It's on "Hold" 24/7.
Last week in the middle of a below-zero string of daily temps the house felt cold on 2 separate days. Both times I found the t-stat had changed to "COOL" mode so the temps were in free-fall.
The first time I just assumed someone had accidently changed it but at the 2nd occurrence I investigated and found 2 issues:
Low but not dead batteries.
No connection to the Wi-Fi due to a router change weeks ago.

What I want to know is can this t-stat work reliably as a basic control *without backup batteries and without a Wi-Fi network*? Any know reliability issues with Sensi?

(And no the power didn't go out either day to explain why it would reset)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-18, 11:03 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,807
I don't know why it would have switched to cool but it does require the two AA memory batteries. There should be a battery level in the display.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-18, 08:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,475
I can't trust a thermostat that can switch modes by itself.
I think I need to go way back to a mechanical one.
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-18, 08:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,807
Yes.... I do agree with you. Someone has tapped into your wifi frequencies.
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-18, 06:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,475
Pete I don't know if my thermostat needs a tinfoil hat...or you do
 
  #6  
Old 01-12-18, 08:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,475
Getting ready for bed & the house felt chilly so i checked. Yep 3 degrees below the setting and it set itself to "COOL" again.
 
  #7  
Old 01-12-18, 09:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,807
I was looking into this further and I found this.......

Sensi thermostat has a feature called Auto Mode, which allows the thermostat to switch from Heat to Cool, or Cool to Heat automatically. Auto Mode can only be enabled from the Sensi app. From the main screen of the app, tap the Mode icon in the lower left corner.
 
  #8  
Old 01-14-18, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,475
It's never been on "Auto" to my knowledge. Even if it were--wouldn't it switch to "Cool" only if the temp exceeds the 75* "cool" setting? That isn't going to happen in the winter. Do i understand how it's supposed to work?

Seems clear to me this thing ain't right. I guess I'll try customer service & see if they'll replace it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'