Trane to VINE thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-09-18, 07:35 AM
ronxlau's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Question Trane to VINE thermostat

Hi,

Im trying to install a Vine Smart WiFi Thermostat with 7-Day Programming, Touchscreen and Nightlight (TJ-610) to a TRANE A/C and Air Handler TWE048P13BF0 ( 4 Wire connection).

I have taking pictures of the before connection like it recommends on the VINE installation manual, i turned off the breaker for FURNACE and A/C. I connected the wires as indicated), but i noticed that when the FAN turned on the VINE Thermostat re-initiated itself (like a power recycle) i figured i did something wrong. So i checked again and noticed i had to go in the Air Handler and make an adjustment. Like in the video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvsCIKdJsc0

But i dont know where this wiring is located on my Air Handler, i still havent opened the Air Handler, i need to know where those cables are located before i attempt to open it.

If anyone has any owners manual/guide about the TRANE Air Handlers i would appreciate it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-09-18, 11:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,072
You find those connections in the blower section.
 
  #3  
Old 03-09-18, 09:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
That thermostat needs a C connection to operate.
What do you have..... a split A/C with electric furnace ?
The Trane TWE shows as a heat pump system.
Are there any spare wires in that thermostat cable ?

A picture of your old stat connected or what color was on which terminal would be helpful. How-to-insert-pictures

Trane multi air handler
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-18, 08:39 PM
ronxlau's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Added image of Old thermostat conneciton

Thanks PJMax,

To respond to your questions:

Yes i do have split A/C and Furnace.
I dont see any heat pump, looks like a standard Air Handler.
No spare wires, just a second cable that i explain below with the images of the current (OLD) thermostat.

Attached are two images of the old thermostat, one showing the cable positions.

G goes with G
W goes with W
Red goes to RH ( Then a small black cable from RH to RC)
Blue goes to Y

Additional to this, the other image shoes two sets of cables going to the thermostat and Air Handler, meaning cable #1 ( has 4 wires (R,G,BL,W), cable #2 (has 2 wires (R,W)

Cable #2 wiring:
R goes to Y position
W goes to Y cable in Thermostat.
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by ronxlau; 03-11-18 at 08:48 PM. Reason: adding more clarity to current connection
  #5  
Old 03-11-18, 08:51 PM
ronxlau's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Thanks Skaggsje

I opened the air handler and there it was, the 24v cables going out of the furnace electrical box

3 White wires (WH1,WH2,WH3) + 1 24v White wire
1 Green
1 Blue (my Y i guess)
1 Red

No extra wires, no Terminal C.
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-18, 11:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
Since you have an electric furnace..... you cannot use that 4 wire connection method shown in their video. You need to have the blower controlled by the thermostat. There is a C connection at the air handler.

You must have either 5 wires or you can purchase a C maker module like the Fast Stat 1000.

Rheem-1000-FAST-STAT-Wire-Extender

That extra two wire cable in the wall appears to be from an overflow float switch for the A/C condensate pan. How did they get cable to the thermostat ? It may be easier just to run a new thermostat cable to the air handler.
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-18, 08:49 AM
ronxlau's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Hi PjMax

Please can you tell me where in the diagram connection the C connection is, i can definitely throw a new cable to the thermostat. thermostat and Air Handler are next to each other. Just need to buy the right cable and length

thanks,
RL
 
  #8  
Old 03-13-18, 10:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
I don't see the requested picture for the wiring at the air handler. There should be two cables there. One goes to the thermostat and one goes to the outside condensor. We need to see those splices.
 
  #9  
Old 03-16-18, 07:49 AM
ronxlau's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Images from the Furnace side

Hi PJMax,

I added some pictures i took from the furnace in hopes that you can see the C connection. I dont know if this will help, or if you need more pictures. Please let me know.

Thanks,

Ronxlau
 
Attached Images       
  #10  
Old 04-19-18, 06:23 PM
ronxlau's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Hi PJMax,

I did add the pictures a while back, can you please review them, i also purchased the Rheem-1000-FAST-STAT-Wire-Extender but i still need to find the C connection to complete the installation.

Thanks in advance
 
  #11  
Old 04-19-18, 07:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
If I don't respond.... please feel free to "bump" the thread.

The blue wiring in the picture is Common. It connects to the metal chassis at the transformer so the entire metal frame is C. The blue wire goes down to that white plug. The blue connections with the wirenuts should also be C. All the C blue wires will be connected.

Name:  C.jpg
Views: 9
Size:  79.9 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'