How does number of heating cycles setting work?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-18, 08:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
How does number of heating cycles setting work?

I upgraded my simple Honeywell Deluxe thermostat to a Vision Pro 8000 and am now getting some temperature overshoots by 2-3 degrees, whereas before that never happened. Wondering if this has anything to do with the number of heating cycles per hour setting. Can someone explain what this setting does for a hydronic system, and how it interacts with the temperature reading?

On the old thermostat, as soon as temperature went below/above the heat setting it would turn on/off. Very simple, if not entirely efficient. Is the Vision Pro 8000 doing more behind the scenes?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-18, 11:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,077
Sounds like the system type is set wrong. It has nothing to do with CPH.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-18, 06:45 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,668
The installer set up for hot water heat is located at setting #240 in the thermostat's settings menu.
It says set the thermostat for conventional heat, then at #240 it should be at 3 - 3 cph.

At setting number 240 you are actually able to set the cph from between 1 and 12.
They recommend 3 but when doing so can not know what type of rads you have and how long they retain heat.
Unfortunately your will have to experiment to find a setting that works best with what you have.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-18, 07:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 9
I set it for Radiant Heat, as that happens to be the system it's controlling. I also left it on the default setting of 3 CPH. What I am wondering is what is the meaning of the CPH setting: does it force 3 exactly cycles? Does it limit at 3? Does it keep it running a little longer to try to get to 3 cycles?
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-18, 08:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,794
It will allow the heat to run longer and be off longer so that the cycles fit into a 1 hour time period. I would think that would make for larger temperature swings. Like Greg mentioned... it's experimental. You can try adjusting the cycles up to see how the system responds.
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-18, 04:50 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,668
I don't have experience with the model of thermostat you have but other similar Honeywell digital controls have a learning period where the thermostat learns approximately how long the heating source has to run in an hour to satisfy the load.
It then cycles the on/off cycles to satisfy whatever cph the thermostat is set for.

I would suggest you try reducing the cph to 2.
This would increase the off time and maybe remove more heat from the radiant panel before it cycles on again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'