How to get rid of exposed cables?


  #1  
Old 05-28-18, 10:19 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to get rid of exposed cables?

The hvac guy had to move my thermostat from one wall to another. The wall behind the thermostat has the thermostat cable running behind it and it looks bad. What are my options to get rid of the cable?
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 05-28-18, 10:34 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,443
Received 18 Votes on 15 Posts
Do you have attic immediately above this wall? Is pullling up the wire and fishing it down to the new location an option?

Is the thermostat proprietary? A Honeywell Redlink thermostat can be used at the original location with a wireless sensor in the new location may be something to consider.

Another option might be a Honeywell EIM at the furnace and a wireless Honeywell Redlink thermostat at your new location.
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-18, 10:53 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a Condominium - 700 sq ft.
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-18, 11:09 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,443
Received 18 Votes on 15 Posts
So pulling wire is probably not an option.

What about the other options that I listed?
 
  #5  
Old 05-28-18, 11:31 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,209
Received 371 Votes on 321 Posts
Nice hack job.

Why was it moved?

Can you fish a cable down to the baseboard (removing it) and then fish up to the new location? It is low voltage cable so there are very few restrictions of how it can be ran.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: