Honeywell 6580 WiFi thermostat on SECO 7 wire setup issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-18, 04:07 PM
ritzcar's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Exclamation Honeywell 6580 WiFi thermostat on SECO 7 wire setup issue

Hi All,
It's my first time posting here, try to excuse me for any mistakes I may make (admins feel free to re-post).

A) I'm trying to install the Honeywell RTH6580 WiFi 7 day programmable thermostat to replace a very old thermostat on the wall. I couldn't figure out much about the make of the present thermostat, except that it says 'SECO Controls USA' on the bottom. It has 7 wires coming to the thermostat (details in pictures below).
W2 - white; O - orange; X - blue; R- red; Y - yellow; G- green; E - black.

B) I reached out to Honeywell support and they suggested a set up which I followed and got the cooling to work. I didn't even try the heating cos by this point I was sweating and was quite tired. However the cooling stooped working after about 3-4 days of the set-up. I tried resetting the stat, turning the breaker on/off etc. I've not found any solution yet and had to re-install the old stat.

C) Below I've copy, pasted relevant excerpts of the suggestions from Honeywell support:
" [size=2]White wire to terminal "W2". [/size][size=2]-Orange wire to terminal labelled "O/B". [/size][size=2]-Blue wire to terminal "C". [/size][size=2]-Red wire to terminal labelled "R", and you will need to keep the jumper from "R" to "Rc". [/size][size=2]-Yellow wire to terminal "Y". [/size][size=2]-Green wire to terminal labelled "G". [/size][size=2]-Black wire to terminal "Aux/E", alongside the White wire. Settings: 1 and 5, 6 and 9 [/size]if your backup heat happens to be a fossil fuel kit (gas or oil), then this thermostat won't be compatible[size=2]"[/size]

D) I've attached Pictures of my old thermostat wiring and also the pictures of the HVAC in the store room that I opened up a little to see the wiring. I've also shared a google drive link if the pictures below aren't of the best resolution. Link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cl...O00ri5qmCpWf64
Name:  image1.jpg
Views: 23
Size:  19.3 KB
Name:  image1_L.jpg
Views: 17
Size:  20.9 KB
Name:  image2.jpg
Views: 26
Size:  19.1 KB
Name:  image3.jpg
Views: 24
Size:  19.9 KB

Questions: Should I make changes to the wiring or the settings within the thermostat ? Is the thermostat I'm using in-compatible for my HVAC application ? Is my Honeywell 6580 thermostat faulty by any chance ?
Side note: I used the same Honeywell 6580 previously to replace another non-WiFi Honeywell thermostat in my previous apartment and it worked just fine.

All suggestions/comments/ideas are very welcome. Thank you to each and everyone in advance.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-09-18 at 06:07 PM. Reason: added enlarged stat pic
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-18, 05:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,359
Welcome to the forums.

Your wiring appears to be correct but the advanced system functions need to be set correctly.
I'm not sure what numbers you were referring to from Honeywell.


function 1 = 5
function 2 = 0
function 3 = 1

(Just for future reference..... your black and white wires connect to the same point inside the air handler.)
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-18, 06:27 PM
ritzcar's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
@Pete
Thanks for the quick response.
The numbers I was referring to were:
function 1= 5
and
function 6= 9
that's what i was suggested in the Honeywell support email.
and yes I did put the black and white wires together at the stat.

I'm gonna try the function 2 and function 3 setting today as well and report back asap.
Thanks again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'