Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Safe to plug spare wire into C on my Nest to check if it's a Common wire?

Safe to plug spare wire into C on my Nest to check if it's a Common wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-18, 03:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Safe to plug spare wire into C on my Nest to check if it's a Common wire?

I moved to a Nest a few months ago, moving the 2 wires over ... black wire to R and off-white wire to W. It worked for a few months until the other day when I turned off/back on some breakers (for something unrelated). Then I was presented with Error E195 - No Power to R Wire Detected. I understand smart thermostats need a Common wire, and the Nest sometimes manages ok without it by turning on the boiler intermittently. I tugged on the wires and a red wire popped out from the wall as well. Anything preventing me from popping it into the Common port on my Nest to see if that revives my Nest? I found the control panel on my boiler (Honeywell S8610M Continuous Retry) and the wire colors don't seem to match back to the ones coming out of the wall by my thermostat, so that didn't help much. Thoughts? Any insight is much appreciated!!!! Links to pics below.

Old Thermostat wiring: https://imgur.com/qNOd5bN

Nest Wiring: https://imgur.com/zXHTLATzXHTLA

Nest Error E195: https://imgur.com/55I7YZG

Boiler Control Board 1: https://imgur.com/DToOgiN

Boiler Control Board 2:https://imgur.com/2LyvlgU
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-16-18, 07:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Go to your boiler. Locate where that three wire thermostat wire connects.
Post a picture for me. We'll find a C connection for you.
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-18, 11:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi PJMax ... Thanks! Where would those wires typically connect on the boiler? To the ignition module? That's what my last 2 pictures are of - the ignition module, however the wires don't look the same as those coming out at my thermostat.

I'm also wondering if somehow my boiler, for some reason, just doesn't have power any longer since I flipped those breakers. All 3 emergency switches in the basement to my boiler are on... I'm wondering if there's normally a light somewhere on the boiler to indicate it's alive. I'm digging through the manuals now...Found the manuals linked from here.

Would I expect the thermostat wiring to be going somewhere other than the ignition module? Thoughts on why the wiring looks different? Any way to tell if my boiler is alive? Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 08-20-18, 12:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
On page 16 in the following link is the wiring diagram. It is in an area inside the boiler near the transformer.
You should see blue and yellow wires on the transformer. The stat should connect to the blue wires and a brown wire.

Burnham-SIN5LNI-LE2-Install-Instructions.pdf
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: