Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Nest Compatibility Tool Says Hire Pro - Any reason this isn't straight-forward?

Nest Compatibility Tool Says Hire Pro - Any reason this isn't straight-forward?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-18, 10:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Nest Compatibility Tool Says Hire Pro - Any reason this isn't straight-forward?

I live in Texas, all-electric system, no gas in my area. Any reason installing a Nest with this current setup shouldn't be straight-forward? Anything stand out that would necessitate the need to hire an HVAC professional to install it?

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-18, 10:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,782
Welcome to the forums.

Looks like a fairly common setup. Heat pump with back up electric heat.
Which nest ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-18, 10:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Well thank you, glad to be here.

And the Nest Learning Thermostat, so, basically whatever the newest iteration of Nest thermostat that isn't the E.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-18, 10:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 829
You’d be better off with a Honeywell or Ecobee product. Nest isn’t a good product.
With a heat pump, it’s much more efficient leaving the setpoint alone unless your able to lock out the auxiliary heat.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-18, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
In my previous house, I had a Honeywell WiFi thermostat and it wouldn’t let be set it cooling below 70 degrees. I have a room on that end of tbe house that sometimes requires it to be set at 69 or so to be cooled to my liking. It’s a kids room and his sleeping is very temperature sensitive, so that made that Honeywell a no-go for me.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-18, 12:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 829
Cooling and heating limits can be adjusted in the programming menus of Honeywell products.
Do you plan on raising and lowering heating setpoint during the day, as in occupied and unoccupied settings?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes