Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Thermostatic Controls
Reload this Page >

Replacing a Simple Comfort 2001 thermostat for a Honeywell RTH6580WF

Replacing a Simple Comfort 2001 thermostat for a Honeywell RTH6580WF

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-18, 12:08 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing a Simple Comfort 2001 thermostat for a Honeywell RTH6580WF

I'm replacing my Simple Comfort 2001 thermostat for a Honeywell RTH6580WF smart one. I could not get it working, and I have reverted to the old one.

I'm trying to figure out why there is a jumper between the Y and W.

Name:  WhatsApp Image 2018-12-08 at 15.05.26 (1).jpg
Views: 610
Size:  19.8 KB

According to the SC 2001 manual:

Y is Cooling control
W is Heating control

Name:  SC 2001.png
Views: 697
Size:  18.5 KB

I imagine that my system has only one module and a reversing valve that is getting triggered by B.

Am I correct? Should I jump Y and W on the new thermostat?

Name:  20181209_190504.jpg
Views: 440
Size:  90.9 KB
 

Last edited by jonasrezende; 12-10-18 at 12:37 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-18, 12:47 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,571
Received 36 Votes on 32 Posts
You should not need the jumper. Some thermostats are really dumb and with heat pumps need the jumper as there is no way to tell them that you have a heat pump. New thermostats you program and it handles everything - connect the wire to Y only. Since you have a B wire you do need to connect to the O/B terminal and tell the thermostat you have B - activate on heating.
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-18, 12:56 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 418
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
did you trace the wires to the furnace/boiler control board? Are they connected Y..Y, etc? Hard to see the jumper in the picture...

Odd, but I am also not a pro
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-18, 07:56 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've traced the wires to the heat/cooling pump. It proved to be useless. The wires end on a series of relays with no clear indication of what they are.
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-18, 08:05 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My system is a WATER SOURCE HEAT PUMP.

https://whalencompany.com/images/sit...M-WA-VI-WL.pdf

I've found hard to find any compatible programming as well.

Programme #1 seems to be the most compatible.

Name:  prog.jpg
Views: 322
Size:  93.6 KB
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-18, 08:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,627
Received 904 Votes on 844 Posts
The wires end on a series of relays with no clear indication of what they are.

Those are flying leads and should be shown in a wiring diagram on one of the service doors to your unit.

This should be all you need........
G - green -----> G
B - blue --------> O/B
Y - brown ------> Y
C - black -------> C
R - red ---------> R/Rc

Function 1 - 1
Function 2 - 2
Function 3 - 1

 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: