Trane & Ecobee4

Old 01-21-19, 01:18 PM
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Post Trane & Ecobee4

Apologies if I should have piggybacked on an existing thread, I see several Trane/Ecobee threads already. I am still learning proper forum etiquette.

I have a Trane S9V2C100U4PSAAB that is 2 years old. I just installed an Ecobee4. The Ecobee folks checked the wiring, I think we're good ... a separate wire for W1 and W2. All good. No jumper wire between W1 and W2 on the furnace control board. The BK Jumper has NOT been cut ... which is good since the Ecobee can't control fan speed.

I think it is running right but I am trying to confirm one thing and have been unable to confirm this even after talking to my installer:

Is there anything else I need to do to have the thermostat control the staging? Are there any DIP switches that need to be set? Or another jumper to be added or cut? Or ... most likely ... some codes that need to be entered on the control board?

I can't seem to find anything about this. My gut tells me that just removing the W1-W2 jumper is enough to tell the system that the stat has control ... but I haven't been able to validate it.

The data coming off the Ecobee does not show much usage of Stage 2 but when Stage 2 is engaged ... it almost looks like the default behavior of "turn on Stage 2 after 10 minutes". Of course my Ecobee hasn't learned a lot yet ... and I have not fiddled with the "THRESHOLD" settings either at this point. I don't want to fiddle with those until I know that I am fully running on Ecobee controlling staging.

Thoughts?

Last question: Why do all the installers try to steer customers away from thermostats controlling the staging? Maybe it's a perception but they all seem leery of this.

Old 01-22-19, 07:33 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
I read your manual and I would say you have it done correctly. The delay from Stage 1 to 2 is adjustable in the menu, but it sounds like its not needed when using a two stage stat,