Float switch


  #1  
Old 03-05-19, 06:03 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,625
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Float switch

Hi All, what is the general consensus about where to connect the float switch?
Connect it to kill 24VAC to the unit thus shutting the fan down or connect it to the condenser circuit thus shutting down only the condenser and allowing the fan to run.
Thoughts
Geo
 
  #2  
Old 03-05-19, 12:54 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,644
Received 72 Upvotes on 65 Posts
I break Y with conventional thermostats unless someone requests that I break R.
 
  #3  
Old 03-05-19, 02:37 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,800
Received 83 Upvotes on 75 Posts
Lots of places in the North have condensing furnaces and no a/c. No place to hook up the float switch except R. Then again, lots don't hook it up at all.
 
  #4  
Old 03-05-19, 08:10 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,625
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Good point on the North country, I am mostly thinking of Southern states with AC.
Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: