Replace Honeywell THM5421C with Emerson Sensi

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-19, 12:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Replace Honeywell THM5421C with Emerson Sensi

I want to install an Emerson Sensi replacing a Honeywell THM5421C.

My current HVAC is a Trane
  • XV80 - Gas heat variable fan
  • CleanEffects whole how filtration air cleaner
  • XL Series Heat Pump
  • Aprilaire Humidifier - model 550
I have an eight wire run from the Honeywell control unit to the thermostat in the hall but only three are being used (red,white,blue).
Here are the images of the Honeywell.

The bottom left of the controller is the Humidifier bottom right is the outside thermometer.

I would like to keep the humidifier and variable speed controls.

If the Sensi is not capable, what would be a good recommendation? I have been surfing the internet and been unable to find something that seems to do both.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-19, 12:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,430
Welcome to the forums.

You have a Honeywell Redlink EIM there. It's an excellent controller. You need to be careful choosing a thermostat when you have a dual fuel situation. Gas furnace and heat pump is considered dual fuel.

I'll let my forum partner Houston answer this one for you.
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-19, 01:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Still wondering if there is a solution. My current thermostat is showing signs of wear and tear. Any suggestions on a replacement?
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-19, 09:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,430
Sent a message to my partner to look into this for you.
 
  #5  
Old 04-13-19, 09:43 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,320
You have a Honeywell IAQ thermostat.
The modern replacement for that would be the Honeywell Prestige IAQ.
The Prestige IAQ would be an easy swap and it would also give you internet and Alexa access to your themostat if you also get the Redlink Gateway.
 
  #6  
Old 04-13-19, 05:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks for the info. That gets me started!
 
  #7  
Old 04-15-19, 12:37 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,795
The iaq has a lot of settings you have to go through - it's not a simple swap.
 
  #8  
Old 04-16-19, 05:20 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,320
The Prestige IAQ would be the best option.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes