Do I have a "C" wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-19, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 234
Likes Received: 1
Do I have a "C" wire

Hi-

We are looking to install a smart thermostat that requires a c wire but Im not sure if we have one. I don't see one connected when I pulled our thermostat off but I looks like there may be something when I open our system in the garage. I have attached a few pics.

Thanks!






 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-27-19 at 07:50 PM. Reason: resized pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-19, 02:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,658
Likes Received: 113
You have a two stage heat pump system
You don't have a C to the stat and I don't see a spare wire to the thermostat
The C wire on the board goes outside to the condenser unit.
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-19, 02:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 234
Likes Received: 1
Thank you. Is an adapter like this an option or no? :

https://smartthermostatguide.com/c-w...dapter-review/

It would be nice to have a smart thermostat so we can control things remotely but if its a big deal to do this we can live with what we have. thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-19, 03:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,658
Likes Received: 113
Yes... that will work.
You must be in a temperate area as you don't have any back up electric heat.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-19, 07:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 234
Likes Received: 1
Are there any negatives or anything I need to be aware of if I install an "add a wire" system such as the venstar? thx
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-19, 08:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,658
Likes Received: 113
They are not my preferred choice but they seem to work ok.
I usually run a new cable but it can be difficult.
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-19, 08:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 234
Likes Received: 1
thanks. i think it would be impossible to run a new line so its either this or nothing. all the reviews i have read online seem to check out so i guess we will give it a whirl.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes