Nest Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-19, 04:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Nest Thermostat

I have a Honeywell wireless thermostat and would like to switch to a Nest thermostat. Is this possible to do?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-16-19, 09:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
It may be possible. We'd need the model number off the thermostat. Since it's wireless that would mean an EIM is connected to the furnace. That will need to be disconnected and then the wiring reconnected to use the nest.

FYI...... the nest needs to be wired to your system.
It will not connect wirelessly like the Honeywell does.
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-19, 02:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 99
The Honeywell model isTH6320R 1004.
 
  #4  
Old 06-17-19, 05:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,195
Upvotes Received: 26
I’d stick with the Honeywell, or at least a Honeywell product.
The Nest is possibly the worst choice someone could make for a thermostat. Terrible little things.
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-19, 12:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
That uses a Redlink EIM (equipment interface) mounted on the furnace. That will need to be disconnected. You will need to check to see how many wires connect that module to the furnace. Then you will need to confirm the wire count from the furnace to the thermostat.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes