Trane XV80 furnace and Nest Gen 3

Old 06-16-19, 08:01 PM
Post Trane XV80 furnace and Nest Gen 3

My Kids bought me a Nest gen 3 for Christmas and am now trying to install it. i wanted to wait for warmer weather.
I tried to get a Yes from the compatibility web page but it insists I need a Pro to install It and it may not be compatible. I am a Electronic engineer but not an HVAC Guy.
I have an XV80 Trane Furnace but have a XL16i Air conditioner 2 Stage scroll compressor. My Thermostat is a TCONT802AS32DAA. Notice the 3 cables going to the Main furnace board. One goes to the thermostat and one to the xl-16i compressor and the larger wire that is kind of back behind in the photo goes to the electrostatic air cleaner.
i WILL ATTACH PHOTOS OF THE WIRING. can You Help me connect this up and set it up.
Thanks So Much for being here to help. I tried to return the Nest but the store wouldn't take it back and its a good gift. I would like to get it working. I can't believe it won't work.

Thanks Again

Separated from...... trane-xv-80-nest.html

Name:  tw1.jpg
Views: 22
Size:  62.0 KB

Name:  tw2.jpg
Views: 19
Size:  25.2 KB

Name:  tw3.jpg
Views: 20
Size:  108.4 KB

Name:  tw4.jpg
Views: 19
Size:  56.5 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 06-16-19 at 10:33 PM. Reason: cropped/resized pictures
Sponsored Links
Old 06-16-19, 08:56 PM
Here is a Schematic I found online for the xl-16i.I noticed that there is a MS contactor coil that is driven by the Y output through the Hi and low pressure switches. How much current does these 24 V Coils typically draw.
Could the coil resistance of this contactor coil be an issue for the Nest to drive. Most modern FET drivers can handle up to 10 Amps. Just Thinking out loud. I also noticed no mention of a 2 Stage function Here?????
My Understanding is the 16i is a 2 stage unit. How Does this work?
OH would you send me the pro programming guide for the gen 3 nest?

Attached Images
File Type: pdf
Compressor Schematic.pdf (104.4 KB, 2 views)