Trane 3 wire to conventional conversion ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-19, 04:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Trane 3 wire to conventional conversion ?

Is there a way to convert my XL20i with Gas furnace using a TCONT900AC43UA tstat (3 wire) ie.power ground data to a Honeywell zwave tstat TH8320ZW ?
IE. comfortlink to conventional
I know I may need to add wire conductors from the handler to the tstat if possible.
I have VeraPlus zwave controller.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-19, 09:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,393
Upvotes Received: 210
Welcome to the forums.

Off the top of my head..... I don't know. My forum partner Houston is the Trane expert.
I'd need the full model number of the furnace that is posted inside on the side wall near the burner area. A picture of the control board in the blower section would be helpful.
How-to-insert-pictures.


I see dual compressors and variable speeds fans. Be prepared to give up some efficiency for a wifi thermostat. Nothing compares to a communicating thermostat for system performance.
 
  #3  
Old 07-17-19, 03:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Pete, thanks
4TTZ0060A1000AA Outdoor unit
TUD2C100ACV52AA indoor unit
4TXCC008CC3HCAA coil and enclosure
TCONT900AC43UA Trane thermostat
I would like to replace the Trane Tstat with:
Honeywell TH8320ZW zwave to connect to the VeraPlus zwave hub. doc attached
Notice it can do multi stages, but not the outdoor temp and inside humidity.
2K square foot house not big deal, I think..

If Houston says forget it I will, just thought someone had figured out how to go back to manual versus the Comfortlink. Manual versus the 3 wire data link.
Great forum!
 
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
  #4  
Old 07-21-19, 09:27 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
http://www.americancoolingandheating...22-1825-09.pdf


https://www.trane.com/residential/en...ortlink-xl850/

While my company has installed adapter boards in the past to make this work, I don't see this as a listed option for that condenser. It would probably be expensive is you could.

Is the Comfortlink II XL850 or the Comfortlink II XL1050 Trane communicating wifi or ethernet thermostat an option that you would consider?
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-19, 07:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Thank you guys! great service here.
I guess I will pass since its to costly to use the XL tstats along with a monthly fee.
I have several Honeywell ZWAVE tstats in service (on Vera controllers) on Trane and other HVAC systems that work great. I have two spare ones and wanted to convert my daughters home Trane system to Zwave then found out it had a Comfortlink installed.

Do you know if the XL20i was specifically designed with Comfortlink as an option or could it have been conventional?

Again, thanks for the help, was hopping there was a work around for zwave. cheers
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-19, 06:32 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
They also made conventional Trane 2-compressor outdoor units but I think they are 19SEER.
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-19, 06:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Your right I have 3 19SEER in my house and they are on Honeywell zwave works great.
again, thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes