Nest learning thermostat with trane xr80 furnace


  #1  
Old 10-14-19, 01:44 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nest learning thermostat with trane xr80 furnace

Hi

i have just had a lengthy and frustrating chat with google re the compatibility of the nest learning thermostat and the Trane xr80. Their conclusion was it was not compatible, but i see online posts saying it is. Who should I believe? I would appreciate any advice on this. I have attached a picture of the wires from my current thermostat.

 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-14-19 at 11:44 PM. Reason: removed link
  #2  
Old 10-14-19, 02:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That picture location is IN your phone.
You need to download it to here..... How-to-insert-pictures.

What model of nest ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-19, 06:31 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete for the quick reply. Its a nest 3rd generation learning thermostat - BH1253-US

Here is the pic

Name:  t1.jpg
Views: 1600
Size:  121.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-14-19 at 11:51 PM. Reason: resized picture
  #4  
Old 10-14-19, 07:00 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Thatís just a conventional thermostat, most any over the counter control will work.
I highly advise against using the nest.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-19, 11:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
I'm not so sure that's a conventional thermostat. It looks like both the O and B terminals are used. Can't see what the blue wire is on. That would indicate a possible zoning system in use.


R ---------------> red
W ---------------> white
Y ---------------> yellow
? ----------------> blue
O ---------------> orange
G ---------------> green
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-19, 03:29 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The blue wire is wired to a B on the thermostat
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-19, 04:49 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
That’s a good catch. I didn’t note both of those wires connected.
OP, do you have a zoned system? What one do you have?
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-19, 06:40 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It is zoned but disconnected at the furnace as I think there are issues with the damper motors. So right now this one thermostat controls the whole house for heat and air conditioning
 
  #9  
Old 10-15-19, 06:46 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Will the zoning be reconnected?
Nest doesn’t play well with zoning.
The nest thermostats in general have a lot of quirks and problems that users deal with.
 
  #10  
Old 10-15-19, 06:56 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was not planning to reconnect the zoning, happy to live with one thermostat as long as itís a nest!
 
  #11  
Old 10-15-19, 10:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
One final question..... is that a Trane thermostat ?
B on a Trane stat is actually C (common)

If the zoning board is disconnected...... you can use the nest.
If the zoning board is still controlling logic..... you can use the nest but you will also need a relay to set the heat/cool mode.
 
  #12  
Old 10-15-19, 04:43 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The thermostat is a robertshaw brand. I donít think the zoning board is still connected
 
  #13  
Old 10-16-19, 05:09 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Any advice on if you all think itís compatible? Itís not a trane thermostat itís a robertshaw, so I donít know if that makes the b wire the common wire or not
 
  #14  
Old 10-16-19, 05:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
If the zoning board is not connected..... the thermostat wires would have to be spliced thru.
Going to need a picture of the zoning board and the low voltage connections at the furnace.

Sorry it's not easier but there are too many variables to just guess at.
 
  #15  
Old 11-23-19, 06:05 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi - here are some pics from the control unit. I appreciate all the help everyone!

Name:  zone.jpg
Views: 1446
Size:  76.3 KB

Name:  zonex.jpg
Views: 1352
Size:  52.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-26-19 at 11:45 AM. Reason: used two of supplied pics
  #16  
Old 11-26-19, 02:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Are these pictures ok? Itís hard to get around the back to take better pictures of the control board
 
  #17  
Old 11-26-19, 11:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,415
Received 4,049 Upvotes on 3,632 Posts
Pictures are ok. Modified as needed.
Confirm the following connection.
Thermostat one connections.
Y -------> yellow
R -------> red
W -------> white
O1 ------> orange
G1 ------> green
B1 ------> blue

System connections
Y ----------> yellow
G ---------> green
Rh -------> red
W --------> white

There is a red wire also on Y. Does that red wire go into that ??? cable ?
If yes..... what is the other color in that cable ?
It looks like black may be that color connected to a blue wire in the equipment cable.

Assuming you are bypassing the zoning board and blocking both dampers open manually.
What model nest ?

MM2 mastertrol zone control (pdf) manual
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: