Old Erie Line Voltage Thermostat to New TB6575A1000


  #1  
Old 10-24-19, 04:21 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Old Erie Line Voltage Thermostat to New TB6575A1000

Hi guys!

I’m trying to replace my old manual Line Voltage thermostat brand Erie with 4 wires with Honeywell TB6575A1000. Red and blue wire are for fan low and med speed, both on new and old thermostat.
So I’m absolutely sure connecting these two by colours if perfectly fine as they match even by wiring diagram.
However black and white are giving me hard time, as on new thermostat black should be hot and white should be neutral, but on old one white is connected on spot marked as “line” on diagram which I assume should be for 120V. When I measure it with voltmeter it shows constant 120V if unit isn’t of or on.
When I measure black on old thermostat it has 0V unless you turn it on and then it has 120V or so. Moreover, black seems to be connected to high speed fan spot on diagram, but this unit has only 2fan speeds working, although switch is made for 3.

Should I just connected black to black, white to white or other way around. For red and blue, I’m confident those are ok. What are the consequences of wrong wiring in this case?

I have attached all the photos. Fan coil seems to be Luxair L350.
Many thanks for your help!
 
Attached Images      

Last edited by PJmax; 02-07-23 at 10:49 AM.
  #2  
Old 10-24-19, 11:31 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,972
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your old thermostat did not require or have a neutral connection.
You may have to go the other end.... at the unit.... and move white to neutral.

See if there is a wiring diagram on the unit wiring door.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-19, 12:31 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thank you for the feedback!
if thatís the case, I think Iíll have to bring in specialist.
Are you absolutely sure it is pointless trying to connect white to white and black to black?

Probably sounds silly but had to ask ;-)
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-19, 12:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,972
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
I would not risk it. Do you have a meter or voltage tester ?
There shouldn't be much to opening the unit up.
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-19, 02:05 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I do but I donít feel confident doing that on my own. I think Iíll call the professional. Thanks anyways!
 
  #6  
Old 10-27-19, 07:04 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Update...

I gathered some courage and decided to move forward with it with help of an friend who knows electricity.

At the end this is what had to be done:
- white on old thermostat was 120 so I connected it to black on new one
​​​​​​- black on old one was hi speed fan so that one went to brown on new one
- red to red, blue to blue those were ok, as I anticipated above
- I had to open the fan bay in order to get one neutral wire from it and bring it to new thermostat directly

Voila, thatís it.

I thought to share with others as someone else might want to do the same.
 
loctruong voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 02-17-21, 02:28 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing with Honeywell T5+Smart Thermo

Hi, thank you for sharing your experience. It really helped to understand purpose of each color code wire. I want to understand can I install Honeywell T5+smart thermostat by exactly replacing same Erie thermostat which you previously had. This T5 thermostat needs c wire and G,R,W,Y wire. This new thermostat works on 24 VAC where as old thermostat works on 120v live wire. Do I need to use some step down transistor? I understand we have red and blue wire for fan and black and white wire for live and neutral. I donít understand will I be able to connect this to my modern T5 thermostat. Your guidance will be very helpful.

thanks in advance.
 
  #8  
Old 02-17-21, 04:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,972
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You cannot connect the T5 directly to the fan coil unit. You need to use relays to convert from 24v to 120v. This is not really a DIY project. I can help you with it but you need to know what you are looking at.

You'll need a converter/relay board as well as a 24v transformer.
The T5 will control one fan speed.
 
  #9  
Old 02-07-23, 10:08 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 2
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
i have a same old ERIE like that, I want to replace a Honeywell RTH2300B Thermostat How I connect the wires ?
If I replace same TB 6575A10000 How I get the neutral wire from the fan bay (the detail)
Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 02-07-23, 10:55 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,972
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You can't connect an RTH 2300B to a line voltage thermostat location.
I went over ways in the previous thread how to do it.
If you are not familiar with high and low voltage wiring... it won't be a DIY replacement.

In any event.... in order to give you specific wiring instructions... you'd need to post pictures of your current thermostat wiring. Even though it may be the same exact Erie model number... there are many ways of wiring it depending on the system you have.
How to insert pictures.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: